Green Smoothie!

in #health6 years ago

TGIF! Hey everyone. In an earlier smoothie post (https://steemit.com/health/@pollypocket/quick-and-easy-smoothie) I mentioned my green smoothies so here it is, as promised! Tonight I definitely needed a pick me up. It wasn't the best week ever, and I knew this basic green smoothie would do just the trick!

screenshot.png

Normally when I make my green smoothies I use kale. I love adding cucumber to give it a refreshing taste, a citrus fruit like an orange because 's the opposite of kale which actually pairs well, and then a banana to give it balance and texture.

What I used today:
• Couple of frozen strawberries
• Couple of baby carrots
• Handful of almonds
• Slice of ginger
• Couple of celery sticks
• 2 cups of kale
• A nice chunk of cucumber the length of your thumb
• A banana
• ½ cup of OJ not from concentrate
• 2 cups of water

greensmoothie.jpg
Add everything in
Blend on high or your smoothie setting.
greensmoothie2.jpg

And wala! You have a perfectly delicious Green Smoothie!
greensmoothie3.jpg
Excuse me from drinking straight from the blender, I didn't feel like washing an extra glass. It's OK if you don't have to share!
greensmoothie5.jpg

Thanks for reading my post and I hope you try a green smoothie, if you haven't before! If you've never had a green smoothie, I would definitely recommend the banana and cucumber to mask the kale. It might look mean and green but it tastes bright and refreshing! Yes, I said it tastes bright !
Feel free to leave a comment with your favorite green smoothie ingredient!

Sort:  

It's getting COLD in here! Let's turn up the STEEMIT love & HEAT! Your post has been chosen to receive some January (Into February) THAWing! Please accept this special surprise on behalf of @goldendawne, the Stewards Of Gondor and @fulltimegeek's delegation! Please check your wallet for a HOT tip!


Image Source

Thank you!

I have a great green smoothie recipe, too!

3 huge scoops of Hillside Farms mint chocolate chip ice cream
milk

Okay, it's basically a shamrock shake.

Mmm Hillside Farms ice cream <3

I'm going to have to try adding cucumber next time

Kale and Ginger, sold!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97