Ketogenic Diet 101

in #health7 years ago

So you've heard about this Diet and are probably wondering what it is and how to get started, so did I! and after researching websites, reading countless books ( a couple of great ones and a lot of bad ones, there are plenty of terribly written books out on kindle).
I tried it for myself with great results!, of course my job as a Personal Chef got in the way so this time I'm doing it right and taking you along for the journey.

Lets get started on what it is:
Ketogenic Diet is a Low carb/moderate protein/ high fat diet
unlike the Atkins Diet that focuses just on lowering your carbohydrate intake, this one focuses on significantly lowering your blood glucose (sugar) which our bodies have adapted to burning for fuel or energy because it is so easily available and switching to burning Ketones (Fat) for fuel which we have plenty of stored in our bodies that we cannot access in the traditional American diet because we keep supplying our bodies with more sugar so why try harder to get to those fat stores?

I will be following Dr. Mercola's guidelines from his new book FAT FOR FUEL where he not only focuses on weigh loss but also on repairing our bodies to optimal health in order to prevent and/or heal from cardiovascular disease, diabetes and even cancer.
book-copy-3.png

I am on day 2 and have already lost 1lb and 0.4 inches off my waist.
on a regular basis I will be sharing recipes, what you can and cant eat and how I am progressing throughout this plan.
hoping to inspire others to do the same!
stay tuned for more!.

Sort:  

Good luck, although daily measurements can be misleading, generally it is a better idea to only do them once a week.

Also, make sure that you are getting enough electrolytes (especially Sodium and Potassium) to help reduce the "Keto flu" at first.

Good luck!

I agree, I'm thinking of doing weekly updates on progress and daily how to's and recipes.

What has your experience been on this method if you've tried it?

I did an LCHF diet for about a year, during which I dropped about 20kgs, and felt great. My wife actually got over her type 2 diabetes at around the same time.

I think that it is very effective!

Congratulations @pcachef! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84