Health Benefits of Yerba Mate

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, I just brewed a pitcher worth of Yerba Mate to throw in my fridge and I decided to do a post on the benefits of Yerba Mate. I will be using the link below as a resource. Feel free to click on it to learn more...
https://www.organicfacts.net/yerba-mate.html

"Yerba mate is a well-known non-alcoholic beverage widely consumed by people of South America. It is made from dried leaves of Ilex paraguariensis tree which is a native South American tree. It is found in countries such as Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, and Paraguay. Yerba mate has been used by for many centuries as a beverage with medicinal properties. It is gaining popularity in Europe, United States, and other countries because of it stimulating effect and health benefits. Many include yerba mate as an alternative to coffee and tea.

Mate tea contains various nutrients that help in maintaining good health. It is a good source of polyphenols, xanthines, caffeoyl derivatives and saponins. Amongst minerals, it contains zinc, chromium, potassium, copper, aluminum, iron, manganese, and nickel. Yerba mate also contains vitamins that include vitamin C, vitamin B1, and vitamin B2. It comes as no surprise that once some of these benefits were discovered, the popularity of yerba mate tea began to spread to other parts of the world."

Health Benefits of Yerba Mate include:

-Antioxidant Properties
-Improves Cognition (memory and attention)
-Increases Sex Drive (mild aphrodisiac)
-Promotes Digestion (particularly if you are struggling with constipation, bloating, cramping and other digestive issues)
-Benefits Cardiovascular Health
-Anti-Inflammatory Properties
-Prevents Cancer (seeking out and neutralizing free radicals)
-Treats Diabetes
-Reduces Obesity ( Increases metabolism due to the natural stimulant qualities. This can improve passive fat-burning, and this drink is often used as a weight loss aid)
-Strengthens Bones ( Calcium, iron, phosphorous, potassium and zinc are all part of the process that keeps osteoporosis at bay as we age and are all found in Yerba Mate)
-Increases Circulation (High levels of iron to boost red blood cell production)
-Boost Immune System (good source of vitamin C)

I personally make my Yerba Mate by the pitcher. I use 1 tablespoon per cup of water. My pitcher holds 8 cups of water, so I use 8 tablespoons of dried Yerba Mate leaves and I let it steep for around 30 minutes. I then strain the leaves and place back the strained Yerba Mate in the pitcher and put the pitcher in my fridge to cool. It makes for a refreshing beverage. I leave it unsweetened, but feel free to add some sugar, honey, or stevia to taste. You can also consume it hot like you would a cup of tea.

Well that is all for now. Thanks for stopping by and hopefully you learned something new today. Feel free to comment, upvote, and resteem. Take care and stay safe out there...

Sort:  

I never even knew this existed and now I’m gonna buy some for health benefits

Awesome!

not to mention... it's pretty delicious (if you like green tea)!

Yep...a little bit of an acquired taste though.

Yass! I'm a big mate fan! I haven't had it in a long time, I've been drinking mostly Matcha lately, so thanks for the reminder of how wonderful mate is :) Have you ever had it out of the little gourd?

I have not had it out of the little gourd. I just do a simple brew in my pitcher, strain it, throw it in the fridge, and drink it in a pint glass.

The little gourd is fun, it has a special metal straining straw to sip it through. I like your version too, so simple and accessible :)

your post is very important.. and its very useful to us... i impressed to see it

You’re receiving this vote on behalf of the @echowhale team

interesting find thanks for sharing :)

the important yerba Mate very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72