Armadillos & Leprosy - IN CASE YOU DIDN'T KNOW

in #health8 years ago

What you may not have known about leprosy...

Have you ever had one of those moments in your life when you’re just going about your life, minding your own business, and suddenly you’re told that there is a chance that you may have infected with leprosy?

I know, it sounds strange and far-fetched, perhaps third world or Biblical, but it happened to me in the United States just a few years ago, and I was sure surprised.

We were driving about 70 MPH through Oklahoma on our way to Texas when suddenly I saw it. A large Armadillo on the side of the road, alive. I had already seen tons of dead ones, but this was only the second alive one I had ever seen. Not be one to miss an opportunity, I quickly turned around and pulled over. I grabbed our fishing net out of the back of our minivan and took off after it.

Success!!!

I caught that Armadillo and brought it back to the van to let the kids get an up close and personal look. After a few moments of checking it out, we lit the Armadillo go and were back on the road. My wife commented about how blessed she was to have a husband who would do something like that, and the kids had enjoyed meeting another interesting creature.

Later that day, down in San Marcos, TX, we stopped for the night at a motel. As I was checking in, somehow I wound up mentioning our encounter with the Armadillo earlier. The desk clerk looked very concerned, and said, “You might not want to be touching those, Bro. They can carry leprosy.”

I was dumbfounded. How had I never heard of this? I had only ever seen one other Armadillo in the wild, back when I lived in New Orleans. I had caught that one too, but no one had ever mentioned leprosy.

Obviously, I was quite concerned. Immediately when we entered our room I grabbed the laptop and hopped on the wifi. Sure enough, Armadillos could carry leprosy. That was the bad news. The good news is, that I have never been infected with leprosy.


If you live in an area where Armadillos are present, then you may already know about this, but I wanted to share this story just in case some of you didn’t. I realize that not everyone is lie @papa-pepper chasing random wild things into woods, but you never know.

I saw this little guy today at a job site, and decided to pick him up for the photo opportunity. I think that they are incredible little creatures, and their undersides remind me of snapping turtles. I definitely do not mind “checking them out”, but I should probably start doing that from a distance these days.

It is also worth mentioning that Leprosy is now often call “Hansen’s disease,” and it is easily treatable with antibiotics these days, so it is not quite the health hazard that it once was, for those with access to treatment.

Though there is no serious health risk for those living in the southern United States, you may want to make sure not to try this at home.


As always, I’m @papa-pepper, and here’s the proof:


proof-of-papa-pepper-potentially-getting-leprosy

ALL PHOTOS TAKEN YESTERDAY BY @PAPA-PEPPER AND HIS BOSS



Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

Sort:  

Great post! <3 anti-biotics :)

Thanks for that.
Thankfully, I seem to be fine!

We also have lots of it in the nothern part of the country.

Interesting, I was unaware of that.
Thanks.

In fact lots of chinese are being caught catching and buying them for food and their shells for ornament.

Never heard about but such a nice article.

Thank you for that!
It is interesting!

Sorry I have to...
Think of the Beatles song "Yesterday"
Leprosy, all my parts are falling off of me
And I'm not half the man I used to be
Oh, how did I get leprosy?

from an armadillo?

Sorry again @papa-pepper had to be done.😂

Morning Pappa!
What a cool/fun post even though its about kinda a scar/creepy topic!
I agree that its cool your the kinda guy who does spontaneous and adventurous stuff!
Thoroughly enjoyed the post and just so you know the MUCH better antidote to leprosy than antibiotics is colloidal silver!
It is a must have as it is better than every antibiotic, last longer, cheaper, no side affects and more effective.
@gardenofeden carries the highest quality available on the market should you ever need or want to invest in being prepared should the need ever arise!
Best Wishes~
Steem On!

You are correct. That is a great point! I usually pick up some antibiotics whenever I go to Mexico, but we've been switching to colloidal silver lately anyway. Thanks for sharing.

Awesome!
A major upgrade that I am totally happy to hear! Though considering the kind of guy you are I am not to surprised to find that you are already on the ball!
Keep up the great work Brother and I will keep tuning in~
Bless~*~

I got back from a two-week visit to our place in Panama last week. While we were there I was told that one of our neighbors had killed, and was grilling, an armadillo.

Someone suggested walking over there and trying it. My wife had eaten them when she was young. I had never tried it. I passed asking my brother-in-law if that was safe. I knew I had heard that they could pass along leprosy or syphilis, I couldn't remember which. As you've said above, it's leprosy.

I don't know where I'd heard it from. I'm not a Texan or a southerner.

On our last night there another armadillo came in through the gate at the edge of our property, walked down our drive for a bit, then veered off into the brush. My brother-in-law, apparently unconvinced about them passing along diseases, suggested we grab a machete and fire up the grill. I passed.

I researched it on my second day back and saw that they can pass leprosy along to people, even if the disease is now treatable. It is still somewhat worrying for people in parts of the world where they may not get the diagnostics and treatment. No one there had any idea what I was talking about, honestly.

I hear that you really got to cook them good.

I know a few folks who've eaten them too.

Thanks for sharing, @papa-pepper! More fun armadillo facts: they give birth to identical quadruplets.

Interesting....

As usual, I learned something new today because I follow @papa-pepper. Thank you.

Excellent! Now you know.

They also have quite a vertical jump, I saw one almost jump over a 6 foot cedar fence once, he made it about 5 feet up the fence in a single bound.

Wow!!! Did not know this creature could jump and jump high...that's crazy and combined with the leprosy carrier quality, kind of creepy. (Nervously lol.)

Yeah, they could even give a really tall person leprosy...

Lol! That's a great plot for a b-rated horror flick!

Yeah, you sure are right. They do get quite a jump to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42