Testimony: How I Overcame Schizophrenia Without Medication

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Testimony - How I Overcame Schizophrenia.jpg

This is my personal account of how I got schizophrenia four years ago, and how I made a full recovery in a year without any medication.

The Trigger

My condition started when my grandfather died. I took care of him in the hospital and developed a close relationship with him. I was young back then. I was just 17 years old.

After being restless and tired for a few days, my grandfather asked me to go home so I could take a rest. I followed his instructions and he thanked me for taking care of him. Little did I know, that it was the last time I get to talk to him. So I went home, took a quick shower, and a few moments later, I received a text message from my mom that my grandfather passed away.

Tears didn't fall as I was shocked with what happened. I went back to the hospital and when I saw him on his deathbed, I started crying.

The night later, I couldn't sleep. I was bothered with the voices I am hearing. Loud, audible whispers. I asked my mom if she can hear it, but she can't. I was afraid of the voices. I was afraid to close my eyes and go to sleep. I resorted to putting my earphones and playing some songs.

The First Two Weeks

My first two weeks of hearing these whispers is a world-changer. I don't want to sleep alone. I can hardly go to the bathroom alone. Everywhere I go, I hear these voices. Whether I was in a mall or in a crowded place. I was living a nightmare.

On this stage, I had some thoughts of committing suicide to end this madness. One time, I was alone in the house. I heard a whisper saying "Tulungan mo ko." In English, "help me."

I thought someone was there. So I looked in the direction of the voice and saw no one. It then whispered again and said "Naririnig mo ko?" In English, "You can hear me?"

I ran outside the house and waited for my mom to get back.

The First Attempt

Two weeks have passed and I was still hearing the voices. I was sick of it. I got used to the whispers but sometimes, I still get goosebumps whenever I hear it.

I was alone in the house again. I heard the whispers and looked to the direction of all the whispers I can hear. Then, I started praying loudly. I thought this was gonna stop it, but I was wrong. The whispers grew louder and I heard more whispers very close to my ears. I panicked, I ran outside again.

The Final Battle

Few more weeks have passed and I started researching about my condition. I found that it is schizophrenia and was caused by the trauma I received from my grandfather's death.

After reading some of the testimonials of other people suffering from schizophrenia, I was relieved to find that I was not alone. I also sought help to my life group leader and together we prayed for healing. I knew this was not enough, but it helped me become braver.

So I was alone at home once again. I decided to pray away these whispers. I started praying loudly, and the whispers got louder. I fell to my knees, cried, and made my prayers louder. It was a prayer I will never forget. The more I prayed, the louder they became.

The moment I finished my prayer, I experienced silence. It was the best feeling in my life. After months of suffering, I was able to live peacefully again.

Recovery

Though there are times when I can still hear the whispers, they were not audible anymore. I can't hear them clear enough to be scared.

Fast forward to a year after the trigger, I got a full recovery from schizophrenia.

And now, whenever I'm sharing this testimony to friends, we still get goosebumps even when it's over.

Sometimes, life throws unimaginable obstacles in our life. We just have to be strong, and have faith in His plans for us.


If you are suffering from schizophrenia, let me know and I'll do my best to help you in any way I can. I left a direct message link in the website part of my profile so you can contact me personally.

Sort:  

Nice of you to share your story. I really hope someone in that situation would get hope by reading it. Glad you are well again.

Yeah, it was hard struggle but it was worth it. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by paolospeaks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @paolospeaks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70