I Typed This Post Standing Up

in #health7 years ago

pexels-photo-26721.jpg

One of the biggest things i miss about the old office is the proper standing desk that came complete with hydraulics. Not the kind that you had to lift up and down manually. Working from home, i'm mainly on the laptop at the dining table. Not very conducive and also not very good for the health.

Sitting is very bad for your health

There has been a lot of publicity about how sitting or a sedentary lifestyle in general can be bad for your health. According to the Mayo Clinic, sitting for more than four hours each day results in:

  • A nearly 50% higher risk of death from any cause
  • ~ 125% higher risk of cardiovascular disease, e.g. chest pain (angina) / heart attack

It's easy to sit for extended periods of time

I timed myself the last couple of days and it was pretty shocking to me, but i've been sitting around for 10 hours on average. I hope those health risks don't increase linearly! If you work from home or drive to work, you lose out on the standing and walking that it takes to get to the office.

Making a lifestyle change

Just my opinion, but i've found that the easiest way to make a sustainable change is to incorporate it as part of your lifestyle or daily routine. I'm not going to run out and buy myself a fancy standing desk just yet. I'm going to start by moving my office to the spare room and using the tall drawers as a makeshift standing desk.

As an added bonus, standing burns an extra 50 calories per hour compared to sitting. Standing for a full 10 hours would burn 500 calories! That's pretty much like running 4km.


Title image from pexels. I wish it will be me after standing for 10 hours per day for a few months.

Sort:  

That's scary! I work in an office and we don't have such standing desks, and that's a real bummer. So, on average, I would say that I spend about 8-9 a day sitting. It's also bad for bad for the back, isn't it?

Yeah the back strain can be terrible to. I felt it for a couple of weeks and then now i don't feel it so much. It'll probably flare up if i had continued sitting.

Hope you guys get standing desks!

After having worked for this company for several years, I highly doubt this would happen :) But thank you!

Interesting article and useful information! You know, after reading your article, I stood up immediately and typed this comment while standing.... ;D

Oh! I would love to have good shape after standing for 10 hours per day for a few months, too!

Great work! ;)

Thank you @tangmo :) Hope these small positive changes make a big difference ....φ(・∀・*)

You're welcome! Yeah! I do really hope so! :))

This post has received a 9.96 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @numpypython.

This post has received a 4.16 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @numpypython. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45