LOSING WEIGHT and Working Out while at WORK!!

in #health6 years ago (edited)


work1.png
Pic source

We all know that in order to lose weight it is important to consume less calories than you burn. Easier said than done, right? I work in an office setting where I sit in front of a monitor all day.. According to the health guidelines this is comparable to smoking a pack of cigarettes per day in terms of damage to your health.

We evolved to move. All of our body systems are dependent on moving. Starting from blood flow and going to memory and immunity etc. Unfortunately, in my line of work I tend to forget that I need to stand up and stretch or walk around at least every 30-40 minutes. So what helps me is my Garmin fitness watch that reminds me every hour of inactivity that I need to move. So I try to get up from my chair and move around a bit. I actually go to the restroom and do push-ups every few hours. Also I have my grip strength trainers and special rubber bands that I try to use throughout the day in order to increase grip strength, get my blood flowing and help with muscle fatigue and joint pain. During lunch I go into a basement and do a high intensity interval training like kettlebell swings (I have my kettlebells there), burpees, shorts sprints, pull-ups (on a plumbing pipe) etc. Doing these things helps me get my heart rate up a few times throughout the day and on top of a decent weight lifting or high intensity exercise I do once a day (usually after work) it increases my stamina, strength, and burns calories! This is how I cope with stress and the lack of movement at work while burning more calories during the day. I can not emphasize enough on how important it is to move throughout the day. Most of the people I work with are obese and very unhealthy. They are sitting still for close to 8 hours a day under a lot of stress while consuming junk food. I try to encourage them by example but it is very hard. They don't realize the damage they're doing to themselves.

So I hope it motivates you to get up and move during your day because exercise is a free "medicine" that won't cause any negative side effects while preventing major health problems and will improve your quality of life!

IMG_20170831_205635_354.jpg
(Finger strength trainer and a wrist/grip twister)

20180126_200418.jpg
(Captain of Crush #2 gripper)

20180126_194533.jpg
(IronMind rubber band for extensor muscle workout- great for eliminating "tennis-elbow" pain and balancing out grip training)

Things to do while at work:

⦿ Get up and move around every 30 to 40min

⦿ Try to move while sitting down. Change your position, stretch etc.

⦿ Try using the trainers described above

⦿ Do a high intensity interval training for at least a few minutes during the day

⦿ Try to bike/walk to work

⦿ Use apps and widgets to help track down your calories, activities, and heart rate

This way you will feel better and stronger, lose weight and have more endurance and be healthier overall.

Sort:  

I should start doing the same..You have a very healthy fitness regime!

Really great ideas! I'm currently fighting the residual of cat scratch fever which tends to settle in the lymph glands. I'm using water, movement, and weekly massages to move the stuff on out. The last two days I forgot to be diligent about moving around every 45 min. My right arm is so ooo tender today.

The process has brought me face to face with this little known fact that the body's whole filtration system depends on movement... And just when we need our filtration system the most, the last thing we want to do when we're sick is move!

I hadn't thought about movement being an immune builder but since it keeps systems filtered, makes sense that it would be a great preemptive strike!

Glad to run across your inspirational article today. I needed the boost!

OH careful with those water pipes. You may find yourself in a scene from the very first Star Wars. ;-)

:) Thank you for the great comment! Glad you found it inspirational!

Very good post, great tips, well known, but sill need to be repeated.

Good ideas, little things we could incorporate. Every calorie counts !

Thank you! Yes, indeed!

Good work, thanks for sharing.

Wow you really share very important tips for us to be healthy.. Thanks :)

Thank you! Glad you liked it!

I need that extensor muscle band. I am retraining my grip after a tendon tear. I love the ways you keep moving. We are working on getting at home weights, box for jumping and kettlebells. I work from home. I work out at Hoosier Crossfit. I'm ready to do more than 4 hours per week.

No doubt, Exercise is very good for the body but it is kinda stressful for me because I just can't keep up after working for 8 hours everyday. I would to work out but don't know how to fix it on my schedule.

I know what you mean! But if there is a will there is a way. I was working 2 jobs up until the end of 2017 - putting in on average 65 hours per week.. That's where I started to incorporate exercises during the work breaks into my schedule. Otherwise, if I did not do them during the day I was so tired when I got home that all I wanted to do is sit on the couch, watch TV and drink beer... Good luck! Thanks for reading too!

According to the health guidelines this is comparable to smoking a pack of cigarettes per day in terms of damage to your health.

I didn't know this.. And I'm surprised.
We need all the little bit of exercise we can get..
Steem on!!

For sure! Thanks!

you're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48