Cold showers

in #health7 years ago

The title may give some the chills.. Literally.
I decided to put together an easy to read blog about the immense benefits of and why I personally choose to "endure" a cold shower each and every day.
Let's begin.

cold-shower.jpg
(First cold shower may look like this)

-#1 Deep Breathing,
The picture above is completely accurate when one decides to venture down the road of cold showers. Deep breathing is the first sought benefit of taking a chilly shower as it forces one to do so. Because after you have mustered up the will to battle against your uneasy thoughts produced by your good friend "brain" (not a typo for Brian) the first reaction you'll notice in a cold shower is the physical reaction of "just breathe." This is your bodies best line of defense for the quick unexpected change in body temperature, which does much more good than harm, think meditation.

-#2 Alleviates Depression,
The combined effect of shock (not the bad kind) and deep breathing also brings about some "feel good" hormones. It's as if you've encountered a black bear in the woods and you're about to run for your life, but instead you decide to stay and fight. This is clearly the best option as running doesn't help anybody, and leaving the cold shower won't benefit you. Adrenaline is the name, here to save the day! Seriously though, it's not just adrenaline, it's also the incredible feeling you get by achieving your own personal goals. For most, say good-bye to that low energy feeling called Depression!!

connie-lemperle-black-bear-web.jpg (But it's so cute, bears need loving too?)

-#3 Great for skin & beauty,
This one I didn't personally care for much, being that I am a male. However, this benefit deserves being mentioned as it's effect is very "defined" ;). The biggest benefit here is that Icy water will actually close your pores, which prevents skin from accumulating dirt. This simply means LESS ACNE! (For those who are prone, like myself.) As if that wasn't enough, detoxification also occurs which helps to keep your skin looking vibrant and young! Could we say no more "fountain of youth skin care products?" I'm wondering where the closest ice bath is, as I'll be taking a dive! Added bonus: Cold water is healthy for hair as the cubicles are tightened, your hair won't fall out as easily!

as-a-balding-man-this-just-irritates-me-59144.jpg

There are many more benefits, these are the top for me.
For me, these benefits alone were enough for me to say good-bye to my long time ex: Hot-water
& Say hello to the most uncomfortable and icy: Cold-water.

I hope you (the reader) will go on a date with miss "Cold-water" sometime and if you already have, please share your experience with me in the comment section.

Cheers to the uncomfortable!

Credits:
-Google images (Of course, I give credit to the poor lad who passed away after taking the picture of the bear!)
-https://wakeup-world.com/2012/04/11/ten-health-benefits-of-cold-showers/
& of course my own experiences!

Sort:  

Great post!! Don't know if I can bring myself to do this as it's just about Winter here but will definitely give a try one day :)

I've done a few cold showers. It does feel amazing afterwards, but it's a pretty brutal 60 seconds in that super cold water!

Endurance is powerful! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51