Day 1 of My 7 Day Smoothie Challenge!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Hey Guys,

On Friday, I mentioned I was going to try a 7 day smoothie challenge to get a better grasp of healthier diet...Well, today was Day 1!

In case you are looking for some inspiration or motivation, here's what I ate today.

Breakfast

I had a simple, yet tasty green smoothie this morning for breakfast.

IMG_4246.JPG

In my personal blender, I simply combined some frozen blueberries, 1/2 of a frozen, ripe, banana, 1 scoop of spirulina powder, and distilled water.

I usually add a scoop of Zhou Nutrition's spirulina powder in my smoothies just for good measure. They do turn the color more of a dark green color but overall, the flavor is relatively the same. And finally, I topped it with crushed slivered raw almonds which adds some crunchy texture!

IMG_3492.JPG

IMG_3506.JPG

I really enjoyed it... plus smoothies are sooo easy and fast =)

IMG_4250.JPG

Lunch

For lunch, I basically just threw together a Mexican-style kale salad with pinto beans, onion, avocado, and a dash of cumin and cayenne pepper. I was completely out of fresh salsa ;( but that would have been awesome in this salad.

IMG_4257.JPG

Dinner

And, for dinner, I made 2 of these delicious green smoothies with fresh mixed greens, 1/2 of a frozen banana, 1-2 slices of avocado, and some distilled water. This is my personal favorite smoothie recipe of all time because it's so simple and has less sugar in it than a lot of other smoothie recipes.

IMG_4260.JPG

Why am I doing this 7 Day Smoothie Challenge?

As I mentioned in my post, 7 Day Smoothie Challenge, Here I Come! I'm doing this challenge not only to get into a healthier eating routine, but to work my way into veganism. Yes, I've thought about it alot, and I am ready to become a vegan. For 10 years I was a vegetarian but for the last 2 I have not been. I have had a relatively "healthy" diet for the last 2 years but I have learned that I have some food intolerances that I just can't ignore any longer.

I also want to shift into veganism because it is inline with my personal convictions for what's best for the planet and living creatures.

Tomorrow, I'll be back for my Day 2 post to track my 7 Day Smoothie Challenge!

Thank you all for your support and comments:)

All photos were taken by me =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62