7 Day Smoothie Challenge, Here I Come!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Hey Everyone!

Today, I want to share with you something I've decided to do for my health and to re-start my taste buds.

I'm committing to a 7 day smoothie challenge, a 100% vegan diet cleanse, something I've needed for AWHILE!

I will be making fruit smoothies, green smoothies and fresh salads with dairy-free, vegan dressings. For breakfast, I'll have a smoothie and whenever I feel like it, basically ;) I don't believe in deprivation.... that's not me. For lunch and dinner, I'm planning on having a large salad with my favorite ingredients. I will share these with you along the way =)

Why am I doing this?

There are so many reasons why I want to do this. Besides health and wellness, I want to take the first step towards becoming a vegan. I have been a vegetarian for 10 years but stopped for the last 2 years. Another reason... my diet needs a restart badly. I have been off in a bad direction for the past month or so and it's time to get back on track.

I just got married to @followbtcnews and at this rate of overindulgence and bad eating choices, I'll be unrecognizable by our 1 year anniversary (LOL, exaggerating a bit!).

But I also care about animals...

That's why I went vegetarian for 10 years. No, I was not vegan - I wasn't ready for the commitment. But I think I'm ready to plan a future in the vegan lifestyle. This is just step #1!

Well guys, I'm going to need your support! My new hubby is a meat, potato, cheese, bacon, sweets super-fan. So, temptation is all around me. But you know what? There are lots of vegans and people here who are on a journey of their own, and I know I can do it with all of you together.

Thank you for your support :)

Sort:  

Natalie, don't worry about not making the Vegan connection in the past. I was a vegetarian for 6 years and to be honest I thought it was for the animals. Now I know how animals are treated for dairy as an example, anyone supporting that using the word Vegetarian is basically confused. I think we would have all been Vegan if we'd have known. So it's not out faults, society is cruel, and it's not nature, it's greed. I'm absolutely 100% certain that once you get back on track that your life will change dramatically! Keep in mind for your cleanse, that your body shall open up the detox flood gates and want to flush as much poison out of you as possible. I got a fever and even had to go to the ER, but that was because I didn't even know what detoxing was. Stick with it and within 4 days you'll feel the new you. I can't describe how amazing I've personally felt for the last 4 years since going vegan. I wake up happy and I go to sleep happy. I got married to Silvia my wife this year and we turned Vegan the same day within the first week of meeting each other and we've never even had an argument. We both believe our diets have a lot to do with it. So my advice would definitely do it for yourself first and then make the connection with the animals. Watch all the films, like knives over forks, cowspiracy, earthlings, etc etc. And always remember, by changing your life, you're also saving lives and the environment and planet I, my wife and my child lives on. So I would like to personally thank you for that, as it means a lot to me as you can tell. Lastly, if you're in need of recipe ideas, then take a look at my blog as I shall be posting now daily. You can do it and believe me, it's so much more fun on this side. Most of us are normal, there are your odd veganmillitants but in reality they just want to help others and save the world a little faster. I'm here if you have any questions. Good luck!

Thanks so much for the support @govegan. I have seen all of those films you mentioned, knives over forks, cowspiracy, earthlings, and others that make you realize what you're doing, eating, and the way you're thinking isn't right. I love documentary films for that reason. I have known better for way too long, and I just can't live with myself doing the same things I know are not aligned with my ethics and health goals.

Dairy, like you mention, is just an example. Every time I consume dairy I am reminded of the inconvenient fact that some dairy cow(s) were forced to stand in a stall, forced to be milked many times, and maybe even abused well beyond that. But dairy doesn't even make me feel good, anyway. So, I've had the nagging voice in my head forever, saying.... "why do you keep eating this crap?"

I guess after awhile everyone gets tired of the nagging voice. ;) Well, I certainly hope my 7 days on smoothies and produce don't send me to the ER... But I'm just going to take things easy. In the past, I've done only smoothies but stopped after about 3 or 4 days because of the detox symptoms. Solid foods seem to slow the detox process down. But as with any habit changing, my favorite mantra is slow and steady gets the worm :)

Thanks, @govegan
Muah!

Good luck with your smoothie challenge! And don't get me started with baby goats... the cutest!!

Thank u @goaldigger. I love smoothies so it won't be hard for me!

Your body needs some vege that's why that is the best thing you can do have some of it.......A healthy lifestyle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44