Calcium Intake for Older People

in #health7 years ago

According to the National Institutes of Health, women who have reached menopause should take in 1,500 milligrams of calcium per day, or 1,000 milligrams per day if they are taking estrogen in hormone replacement therapy. Men age 65 and over should take in 1,500 milligrams of calcium per day. Good sources of calcium include low-fat and nonfat dairy products; green, leafy vegetables; dried peas and beans; and calcium fortified
foods. The chart below shows the approximate amount of calcium in certain foods.

Capture.JPG

Our daily calorie needs tend to decrease as we age. For this reason, an older person’s diet should be nutritionally dense— that is, small amounts of food should provide large amounts of nutrients. It is also essential for an older person to take in adequate amounts of calcium to facilitate muscle contraction and nerve function, and to help prevent osteoporosis (a condition in which bone becomes thin, brittle, and susceptible to fracture). Older people who have lactose intolerance (an inability to digest dairy products that causes bloating, gas, and diarrhea) may be able to use calcium supplements or commercial products that help with digestion of dairy products.

Please do not consider it as medical prescription. Always ask your doctor for advice.

Reference:

Book: Guide to Home Caregiving by Angela Perry, MD

Sort:  

Very good post. I'm in my 50s now, and recently I realized how important it is to increase my calcium intake. (Hopefully I got a head start. :-) )

Keep up the great posts. You might want to consider making a daily series of posts about proper nutrition.

Full Steem Ahead.

Thank you sir that you liked my post. Please keep following me for such posts on nutrition.

Nice post dear, we should use milk and green vegetables in our lives expect chicken & beef for a healthy life.

Very good post. I'm in my 50s now, and recently I realized how important it is to increase my calcium intake. (Hopefully I got a head start. :-) )

Fantastic post!

Thank you @theresa123

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50