You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple Secrets to Happiness #2: You Can’t "Will" Yourself to Be Happier

in #health7 years ago

For me, it's not so much about trying to be happy as it is trying to not have a criticizing mind. When I'm criticizing - and usually it's not just me but everyone around me - then I find I'm more irritated by things like, "Why doesn't he just..." or "I told them to...but they didn't listen," etc. My mind just has a bent towards being critical, or maybe it's a habit. I've been trying to make a habit out of not going down that train of thought whenever I see it coming.

Looking forward to seeing your next post!

Sort:  

Thanks. I agree. As soon as that critical attitude comes out I think frustration follows since we can't change other people.

Yes! Although I do believe it stems from wanting to help other people, which is good, the idea that I can know what they're going through enough to know what's "best" for them is not good. Everyone has their own crosses to bear, and I just need to learn how to share that burden with them and not try and take it on myself. :/

I agree. In addition, we can't truly walk a mile in someone else's shoes, nor know what God is teaching them through a particular experience. Everyone's journey here on earth is unique and success can come in different ways. Nevertheless, it is hard to not judge at times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72