You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding a space where vegans and meat eaters can agree to differ, and still be friends

in #health7 years ago

Thank you for posting this @kiwideb. This is so funny yet at the same time a serious issue to consider. You are blessed to live in New Zealand but in most of the world we really cannot support livestock for eating purposes. Frankly I am really weak without some meat in my diet and I'm sorry that another life sustains my life. I have responsibility to use this life for a good purpose then.

Sort:  

I wasn't really intending to be funny, exactly, but I'm glad it came across as a more light hearted approach to the differences in opinion that abound. I hope that, in time, we can all regard those differences more gently.

We are blessed to live in NZ, and I am grateful for that. But I'm still inclined to think that even in places that can't support much meat eating, they could still support some animal foods. And I don't think you need to feel guilty that you need some meat. But that's just my opinion...

Thank you. Maybe I was just in a light mood. I feel even better now. I guess I have a strange sense of humor. I remember a vegetarian folk song growing up.

"This is what we implore
No more meat please."

And yes. There is meat in other countries. Just not so natural.

Light moods are good! Humour is good, whether strange or not!

That is one of the things I find sad, the places where the meat isn't naturally raised. I would love it, if everybody had access to healthy meat. I do agree with the vegans that some meat is not healthy to eat. If I lived somewhere else, that would be a big problem for me, as I need meat every day, but wouldn't want to eat CAFO raised meat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56