Water for life

in #health6 years ago

It's certainly no secret that staying hydrated is very important when it comes to being at optimum health. Water is the key to life. Up to 60% of the adult human body is water. It plays a vital role in keeping our bodies at a desired alkaline state.

So how much water is needed to stay hydrated ? This varies according to age and gender and also by where someone lives. On average an adult male needs around 3 litres per day & a female around 2.2 litres.
Foods such as cucumber & melon can also provide water.

Water is super important at keeping our vital functions going:

-It detoxes our bodies by flushing water through urination
-It regulates our internal body temperature
-It metabolises and transports the carbohydrates and proteins that our bodies use as fuel through our bloodstream
-It acts as a shock absorber the spinal cord and brain
-It keeps joints lubricated.
-It forms saliva which helps digestion

Water is also key to keeping the brain performing at optimum level. Not enough hydration in the brain can lead to decreased brain cell efficiency. Dehydration also affects concentration and has a detrimental affect on the memory.

Like many people I am constantly battling to keep my water intake at its optimum level. I have vowed to increase my intake. To motivate me I plan to post a journal to document my journey and any benefits I see of my increased water consumption. I will keep you posted!

I would love to hear your thoughts on how much water you guys drink and how you keep yourself motivated to do so !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61292.26
ETH 3430.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51