You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 Helpful/Easy Ways To “Trick” Your Kids Into Treating Themselves With Fruits and Veggies! Get Your Kids Loving to Eat 'Em! 🍊🍉🍈🍇

in #health7 years ago

I remember my mom put sugar on strawberries. It seems so silly now - sweetening something naturally sweet.

What kids need to be "tricked" into eating fruit?! Fruit just feeds our sugar-addicted society. We eat way too much fruit - particularly fruit that has to be transported from a climate much different than our own.

Vegetables -- that's another story. Veggies are the thing kids need more of. They can be arranged in cute and enticing manners. Described as a broccoli forest and carrot kingdom. Give them a choice at the grocery store. Make soup together. Eventually, they will crave the nutritional goodness.

Sort:  

I remember my mom doing that too! As a special treat and sometimes whipped cream too! Ugh and I used to just LOVE IT! How could you not? The sugar overload is through the roof!

As far as "what kids need to be tricked" in my experience, many of them! They want the really sweet ones with all the toppings, sure... but it can be a struggle to have them choose an orange over a brownie. All I can say is my own experience with tons of kids over the years and being involved in elementary... the lunchboxes are terrifying.

I am noticing here now that in the midst of traveling, I was typing my post in word and then when I got internet I brought it over here, I went back and added a portion in the word doc that's not here on the farmer's market and sourcing, linking in my previous post on where food comes from. I agree with you that imported, chemically laden fruits or veggies for that matter are not the way to go which is why I suggested growing your own and chose only a select few plants that have gone over really well in the past for me.

As far as veggies go, the techniques are the same as listed here, but trying to use all of my own original content, I didn't have many veggie pictures crafted in the ways of this post as I did for fruit but definitely the same things go. As I said, the choice at the store, having them play with it and get engaged with it and making it fun, all apply. I see you've recentered the points I made in on veggies and I love it, I agree definitely. It's all about changing how they see what they're eating and I think we can change that and hopefully see improved health and happiness from our young ones! Thanks for the engagement !<3

Hi mhrose!

I thought I would share with you some of my thoughts :)

"It seems so silly now - sweetening something naturally sweet."

I understand this is done to the majority fruits and vegetables grown in the states. I believe this is done because the methods we undertake to grow food that we find at grocery stores (this includes organic) causes them to taste so bland and lose their natural greatness.

" We eat way too much fruit - particularly fruit that has to be transported from a climate much different than our own."

Absolutely agree!! @heart-to-heart does as well as she put that as her first point, to have the kids grow the food!! I think this would solve the problem many of our fruits at the store have, and create the healthiest food for us, if we grow it.

"Veggies are the thing kids need more of. "

Kids (in our dominant society) may need more veggies, just as they need more fruit. But I don't believe it would do them any good if it's just veggies from the store racked with the same problems as store bought fruits. Plus, veggies on their own are impossible to live off of as they don't contain enough vital energy (or hardly any calories for that matter). Veggies are a great compliment to starches, fruits(and fruit products: seeds/nuts), but I don't see why you would put down fruits and prop up veggies. Unless of course, you're not talking about actual fruits, some people consider fruits like pumpkin, tomato, cucumber etc to be veggies. Maybe you're talking about those pseudo-veggies...

Also, to me, (please correct me if I'm mistaken) that you were offering up your suggestion for vegetables in that manner as a counter to @heart-to-hearts post. I noticed that this was done as you offered up the same suggestions she offered in the post as if they were contesting her points (cook together, make it a game, arranged it cute enticing manner). I think this was a wonderful post and am confused why the top comment seems to be contesting her points while also supporting them. So, I went and wrote this whole long comment as I'm just wondering what your thought process was here, as it rather confused me...

Thanks for the reply, @rieki. We are, for the most part, in agreement:

Get kids more involved in growing, preparing, enjoying...wholesome foods. And @heart-to-heart has many good suggestions along those lines.

Where a difference lies, for me, is the emphasis on sweet produce. I feel they should be more of a treat, or a dessert, than a several times a day occurrence.

And this comes from me - one who has been raised addicted to sugar. I know from experience that the sweet produce makes you want more sweet produce or confections, changes your pallet so that the flavors from other produce can’t compete, and even causes blood sugar imbalances.

As a parent of young kids, I always felt good about providing them wholesome, even exotic fruits, in plenty. But now, with 20/20 hindsight, I would take a more sparing approach to sugary fruits. We had a blueberry bush in our yard, but it didn’t provide a cupful of berries/day. We would watch them ripen with great anticipation, and really enjoy each morsel right from the bush.

I also have a different view of the amazing selection of produce available at the market now. Years ago, the convenience and variety just wasn’t there. So, our appreciation of the new, seasonal choices was high. Today, people take food, and where it comes from, for granted.

I’m glad @heart-to-heart showed ways to help kids experience growing, cooking, displaying, and tasting.

I merely believe it’s a lot easier to do when it comes to sweet fruits and desserts, than asparagus or a nourishing stew.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts a bit more :)

"And this comes from me - one who has been raised addicted to sugar."

Not all sugars are created equal! Sugar is required for life, even if you let your body convert fat into sugar, it is still required...

"We had a blueberry bush in our yard, but it didn’t provide a cupful of berries/day. We would watch them ripen with great anticipation, and really enjoy each morsel right from the bush."

That sounds wonderful :) :)

I personally believe that, sweet or not, all food grown in season and in our own domain is the best food for us. I especially believe that our desire to eat it (wonderful flavour) is the absolute best indication for the health it brings to us. There is a world-of-a-difference in flavour between home-grown and store bought foods in every category. Even more so when these foods are combined with our personal DNA. I don't prioritize un-enjoyable foods over enjoyable ones. I personally think our body craves what it needs (when presented with healthy choices and free from addiction, microbiological and otherwise). This is of course saying that we would have to grow all our food ourselves in order to follow this natural instinct.

All this is to say, that yes, most our modified and selectively bred fruits we find at the store today are abominations compared to their health-brining home-grown counterparts. So, I agree probably tone down on the fruits if bought from a store. However, if (and I do) grow my fruits myself. I eat them to my hearts content, I enjoy everything I put into my body, from my mouth to my gut! I eat what I feel like eating and I have never been in better health condition in my life.

This is all my defense of sweet fruits :)

"Today, people take food, and where it comes from, for granted."

Couldn't agree more! So, let's grow our own food and enjoy it without judgment :)

Happy for you to grow your own foods!!

Enjoy them!

Thank you :) They are indeed wonderful gifts!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30