Giving blood - TAKE TWO 🎬

in #health6 years ago

image
I’m a regular blood donor. I like how it helps people.

Giving blood is also good for my body:

  • replenishes with new blood cells,
  • burns calories (650 per pint),
  • supports healthy liver, heart, and pancreas function, and
  • reduces risk of cancer and hemochromatosis

On this visit...

The nurse pricked my finger like always to test if I had enough iron (>12.5) to donate. I gave her my left hand so I could work without trouble with my favored right hand. But my iron was too low, only 12.2, and they were going to send me home. The trip would’ve been a waste.

Then I remembered: this had happened to me before, and the trick is: have them test your right hand!

She retested. Iron levels on my right hand were healthy and strong: 13.2 (and up to 15.2 another time)

It’s all the same blood in my body — why was the iron level so different?

Evidently, the finger prick tests the blood in the tiny capillaries at the tip of your finger, not in the full vein. So, if you don’t use your left hand as much, that capillary may not carry as much iron to the extremities.

Now, even though I hoped that only my left hand would suffer a puncture, it turned out my right hand did, too!

At least I was able to give blood. 🙂

Sort:  

I'm also a regular blood donor. Even though my blood isn't the one they want the most (AB+, so the need is not great), it feels good to donate and be able to help. It's also good for my own health to donate blood, like you mentioned, so why not?

I've also been in a situation where my hemoglobin wasn't high enough, but then they tested it again, twice, and saw that the first test was inaccurate, and I was able to donate. I almost got disappointed there before they tested it again, it's never nice if your trip is going to waste.

Many years ago, I used to be a regular donor. Now they don't want my blood. Diabetics and asthmatics on medication aren't allowed to donate :{ I understand the reasoning, it just makes me sad...

I'm scared to give blood I need it for myself!

I know. I can’t look when they insert the needle. But, you do get when you give!

I love giving blood, thanks for the reminder, it's been a long time for me :)

Aww. I hear you. For asthma, have you heard of a breathing method called Buteyko? Patrick McKeown, a doctor in Ireland cured himself and many others of asthma. His books Close your Mouth, and Oxygen Advantage are full of great information. 3-minute videoclip

I hadn't heard about it, but on my way to check it out now! Thank you!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29