You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Yoga - Head to Knee Pose

in #health8 years ago

This is wonderful Sara!
I'm afraid I haven't stretched seriously in years...and anytime I'm close to the floor I'm tackled by two 70 pound puppies. LOL I don't suppose you have any core strength exercises? Being in my mid-40s and having popped out a few babies, I have to say that I'm really sick and tired of peeing myself every time I sneeze. Sorry if that was TMI. lol

Sort:  

Thank you, @merej99 - this could actually be a whole post in itself!

There are a lot of layers to core strength exercises. Yoga has plenty of asanas that can tone your physical muscles. It sounds like you need core & pelvic girdle strength - here are a few asanas to start, and I will share more in upcoming posts:

...you might want to practice away from the dogs.

Yoga also addresses energetic approaches for healing your condition. There are chakras (wheels of energy) within the body, as well as bandhas (energy locks), which are meant to be engaged during poses.

The Mula Bandha is called the root lock, and consciously locking it down gives your practice a lot more strength. It's located internally between the genitals and the anus. There is a second bandha called the Uddiyana Bandha behind the navel. Engaging them can make any asana appropriate for your healing!

If you're unfamiliar with how it feels to lock into these bandhas, there are some breathing techniques that can put you in touch:

  • Horse Mudra is for the Mula Bandha and is done by exhaling, holding the breath out, and pulsing the muscles between the genitals and anus. You can try 2 sets of 10 reps and build up.
  • Skull Shining Breath is for uddiyani bandha. As you exhale, draw the navel towards the spine. As you inhale, the belly easily releases and relaxes. This is forceful - exhale strongly as you draw in, and the inhale just sorta takes care of itself. You can try 2 sets of 33 reps, and build up.

These breathing exercises alone will be beneficial for you.

WOW - thank you for the thorough response!
The Mula Bandha sounds a lot like Kegel exercises and the Skull Shining Breath is definitely a lot like the breathing technique I would have to do when I was singing and had to take a super quick breath after a really long melisma. Sadly, I've done neither kegels or singing in a really long time.
I think I may have to put the dogs in the other room, risk their cries, and get moving again! Thank you so much!

You're very welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59249.03
ETH 2543.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37