Keto Diet: The results so far

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Keto-Hub-Page-G1-716x519.jpg

Diet: I had my last beer for who knows how long... the Keto diet is officially in effect. So far its been pretty hard; when I eat; I still feel hungry. I'm pretty sure its because my body wants me to consume sugars. Its like a drug and now I am going through withdraws. I have headaches and just overall feel really lethargic. Which is interesting because one of the main reasons I did this was to achieve more energy on a daily basis.

keto-infographic-preview-1024x705.jpg

So the major change is no beer; I am a big beer drinker. A few a night - to relax after work but not to get drunk. I had a little whiskey tonight which is allowed in moderation. But mainly I have been drinking water... a lot of water. In fact I feel like I have to pee every 30 minutes. The amount of carbs/alcohol broken down by your metabolism in beer is ridiculous... its pretty much like eating a loaf of bread every bottle. So I attribute my weight loss to this alone... trading beer for water. But its also what I miss the most.

beer.gif

giphy.gif

Coffee: Used to flat whites where you pour espresso over frothed milk - no sugar. But I never thought about how much sugar is in the milk. I do not drink straight coffee because I feel it stains your teeth. So I found an alternative: Bullet Coffee where you use grass fed butter as a creamer and to add a little froth. It is pretty tasty and from what I read: the oils do something to the caffeine where It plateaus much longer giving you a longer lasting boost.

Bulletproof-Coffee.jpg

Food: Eating roasted veggies with chicken breast, steak, edamame, fish. So far... things are good. But it pretty much eliminates any fast food or semi-fast food restaurants and cause me to meal prep for work. Snacks are beef jerky and nuts.... most snacks have carbs... this is very hard to find alternatives in the grocery store. In fact when I am walking down the isle: you realize how much of our food is pumped full of shit. Carbs and Sugars... the more low fat something is: the more sugar they put into it to make it taste good.

keto-diet-foods.jpg

Exercise: I have a gym membership but I have been focused on the cardio side of things... keeping your heart rate up and burning fat. I can't really do the tread mill over and over again... I need to get outside. But the flipside of that is... its allergy season and over the coarse of 3 miles on a windy day... Id estimated I sneezed maybe 40x. Still stuffed up... even now as I write this from yesterday. Out at the Stanford dish... famous for facebook interviews with Mark Zuckerberg while walking this 3 mile circle.

IMG_4795.JPG

IMG_4798.JPG

Then of coarse there is my dog who needs to go out too... another 3 mile walk for him everyday.

IMG_0755.JPG

And the results are in....

I posted this picture 3 days ago in another post:
DQmNnMaZvnvTaQ2kxGZx6aMJiqhvWvCFqMKk5GkMPEWFfS3.jpg


Today:
IMG_4806.JPG

3 days = 3lbs loss... averaging shaving off a pound a day. Its nice to actually see results in order to feel good about something and keep going.

yes.gif

I will continue until I get to 180lbs and then I will re-evaluate from there. Just so you have an idea... I am 5'10" and this is what my upper body looks like for reference of a before and after: when more time passes on the Keto Diet.

IMG_4808.JPG

medicbtom.png

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

**All photos that are not from my iPhone are taken from Bing search engine

Sort:  

Keep going dude! The results the first few weeks are awesome.

Keep at it! Ive been on keto with intermittent fasting (20/4) for 3 months. My starting weight was 220 and I am currently at 174. The weight loss is great! But the other effects ie: energy regulation and sleeping habits have been worth it alone.

Hope to see more as your progress

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26