Ahead of World Hepatitis Day 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

World hepatitis day (WHD) is usually celebrated annually on 28th July. This year 28th of July, 2017  falls on a Friday.  

The Problem:

Viral hepatitis is one of the leading causes of death globally, accounting for 1.34 million deaths per year – that’s as many as HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis or malaria. Together, hepatitis B virus and hepatitis C cause 80% of liver cancer cases in the world. 

Source: http://www.worldhepatitisday.org/en/about-us

World Hepatitis Day 2017 Campaign Theme: Eliminate Hepatitis

According to the World Health Organisation (WHO) , there a five (5) types of hepatitis viruses.  Hepatitis A, B, C, D & E. Of these 5 types, B and C are considered the most dangerous, because being infected with hepatitis B or C might lead to chronic hepatitis which is a potential risk factor for cirrhosis of the liver AKA liver cancer. We are all encouraged to participate in this year's WHD campaign with theme: Eliminate Hepatitis and put a face to it with the #showyourface . Find details about the campaign and how to get involved here. Personally, I'll be getting involved for two reasons. The first being that I have a responsibility as a public health professional to educate the public on this serious public health issue as well as others including primary and secondary prevention of diseases. The second reason is very personal. Some members of my family have suffered from both acute and chronic hepatitis. My mother, eldest sister, immediate younger brother and I at some point have had attacks of acute hepatitis. Unfortunately, I lost my dear uncle (mother's immediate younger brother), who was a physician to cancer of the liver. Sadly too, I lost my mother's cousin to hepatitis. 


Join The World Hepatitis Day Campaign

If you can relate to the challenge of hepatitis in any way, then join the WHD campaign

Send a passport photograph (selfie of you) to www.worldhepatitisday.org with your short WHD message as shown in the example below 

                    

Feel free to send me your passport photos as show above with the same message. I will create a group poster as shown below


Steemgigs Infographics

I will need the assistance of an experienced person in steemgigs to make an infographic poster about hepatitis. Please, indicate interest by leaving a comment in the section on this blog page or private message (PM)  me in discord app following this link, https://discord.gg/HZJMD8


Image credit 1,2


Feel free to share your thoughts on the WHD campaign


Please, let everyone who reads this post reblog/resteem  it and join in the campaign. Everyone deserves good health.

 

Yours sincerely,

Mary Onah, E (Mrs.)

Founder & Coordinator, Go Global Health Consulting.


Follow us on 

steemit:  https://steemit.com/@maryfavour

twitter:  https://twitter.com/GoGlobalHealth9

facebook : https://www.facebook.com/GoGlobalHealthConsulting



Thank you for reading and taking action!





Sort:  

Great initiative @maryfavour! I just made one with my daughter! Check it out!

CustomPoster (2).jpg

Wow @progressivechef! Thanks for being the very first to send in your poster and that of your daughter. Your support to eliminate hepatitis is highly appreciated. I will prepare the group poster and show in another post which I will inform you of. Steem on!

It was really a pleasure for me @maryfavour! Looking forward for the group poster, I hope you get a lot of posters coming up!
Steem On!

Thank you, @progressivechef! I tried downloading your photo yesternight so I could make make poster with your photo apart from mine and another fellow Steemian, @smyle. I encountered trouble with your file.

Oh that's sad to hear! I'm sending you again just in case! Hope it work!
CustomPoster (2).jpg

This is really nice i alawys know that when ever am in search of something great i would likely find it on your blog.

This post has been selected for the STEVE TOP5 POST of the day.
Kindly respond to this comment

Thanks for the compliments, @steve1122! I'm glad that my post has been selected for Steve's Top 5 post of the day. Steem on!

Very terrible disease condition. Resteeming this for morr enlightenment

Absolutely, @eurogee. Hepatitis, especially B and C are terrible forms that are potential risk factors for liver cancer. Thank you so much for the resteem. You are helping to save lives. Well done!!!

I just did!

Wow! Thanks, @smyle for participating in the #showyourface campaign to eliminate hepatitis. Steem on!

@maryfavour
Good Post!
Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome, @qagiri! Thank you too for stopping by. Join in the world hepatitis day campaign. Cheers.

Hello @maryfavour you have just made the cut in the STEVE TOP5 POST FOR TODAY.

KINDLY VISIT AND YOUR COMMENT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

Alright, @steve1122. I will visit your blog to read and comment. Thank you. Bravo!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39