Is Meat Good or Bad for You?

in #health7 years ago

Just wanted to share with you guys a little bit of information that I’ve learned about the truth behind eating meat and whether it is really healthy or not

*

We’ve all been told that eating meat is a “healthy” source of protein yet studies show meat has a direct link to Cancer , Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease

If we compare the nutrition content from a meatless chicken burger patty to a piece of chicken breast which would you rather choose?

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 4.51.16 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 4.53.28 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 4.46.43 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 11.59.04 AM.png

An article via one green planet explains that chicken products are actually filled with saline to make them look plump and juicy. Arsenic is put into chicken’s feed when they are brought up to make their flesh look more pink (essentially so we will want to buy it)

Would you really want Arsenic or saline for lunch?

When we consume fake meat it comes in a box with all the ingredients on the side for us to know exactly what's in it, where as when we consume meat how can we know what the animal has gone through and what we are really putting in our body?

But what about missing the protein?

The reccomended daily intake of protein is only 46 grams and there are plenty of plant based alternatives. From Textured vegetable protein, beans, lentils, vegan protein powders, Tofu, Tempeh, mung beans, pumpkin seeds, coconut meat, hemp seeds, even things like rice and broccoli have protein in!

If you're worried you'll miss the taste, now days there is a vegan substitute for almost everything! from milk, cheese, chicken, beef, even vegan fish and prawns!

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.05.52 PM.png

VeganFoodProducts.jpg

If you could still have the taste, the texture and the nutrition without harming any animals in the process why wouldn't you?

pig.jpg

All statistics aside from my personal perspective I’ve been vegan for 3 years now and I have more energy than ever, my skin is clearer, my hair grows faster, I’ve lost weight and gained muscle, I've become an overall happier person and I don’t miss meat or dairy one little bit

Thanks for reading!!

Please Comment and let me know your thoughts I would love to hear if this was a helpful post for you 😊

*

What more information? Here's what helped me realise the truth: 101 Reasons to Go Vegan, What the health, Forks Over Knives, Cowspiracy

Nutrition tables Via:
Gardein and Nutrition Facts.org

Check out my previous Posts:

Sort:  

Hey, i like your post it is very accurate but I'm having trouble with the daily protein intake you recommend, is that for the average person or yourself? i believe your weight has something to do with the daily intake of protein.

46 Grams is the recommended daily intake for the average person, I've you need more just increase the amount you eat!

Congratulations @marinated! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was watching your posts, I also published a post about conservation and seeing some similar ones I got to yours. I like your posts, I'm vegetarian too and I love animals. See you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69054.54
ETH 3793.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70