My Health Chronicles: Eating Healthy within Budget – Mini Overnight Oats #2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Hi Steemians, today I would like the share with you 2 budgeted 150ml (5 oz) portion of overnight oats for those who prefer variety over breakfast / lunch.

Those who loves mason gars could use those I used to use them too, but now I prefer rubber concealed glass gars from Ikea as I loved the fact that I can detach the rubber side and clean them thoroughly, both rubber and glass separately.

This time I have changed the toppings a little instead of goji berries, which gives a more sour side especially if you are using natural yogurt, I have used something sweeter, balanced with tasteless raw seeds to add that little “good fat” into the mix.

So here are my 2 choices


Overnight Oats with Egyptian Sweet Dates and Raw Sunflower Seeds


Overnight Oats with Sweetened Cranberry and Sunflower Seeds

Both of these recipes have the same amount of portion of chia seeds, rolled oats and sugarless soy milk and natural yogurt; but I have changed something on the rolled oats preparation.

As it was a huge hit on my first introduction recipe of overnight oats I excitedly shared with my friend who is equally health conscious and is the one who actually challenged me to go on Intermediate Fast (6 hours snack -18 hours fast), and there is something important that she shared with me.

“Didn’t you have a problem with constipation / purging?” she asked.

“Not that I know of, why?” I acquired.

Apparently my friend who loves oats actually suffers a disorder called the Leaky Gut Syndrome where at a time she actually suffered chronic constipation. She later realised that her gut was not strong enough to digest the protective layer of anti-nutrients that comes from gluten products; and rolled oats is one of them.

So she gave me a tip: Soak the oats with hot water just to break the outer layer first.
I tried it on recipe 2, the Sweetened Cranberry and Sunflower Seeds Overnight Oats, by first soaking needed portion with hot water in a bowl. About 2-5 minutes while I took the rest of the ingredients out. By that time they already looked puffed and I mixed them with chia seed before placing them at the base of my containers and add with the sugarless soy milk. I actually prefer almond / rice / coconut milk but since I couldn’t find any off the shelfs I stayed with sugarless soy milk. The rest of the ingredients I did the same.

  • From the base, (briefly soaked rolled oats with chia seeds)
  • Then the soy milk
  • Follow with a layer of sunflower seeds
  • Then add natural yogurt
  • and finally, top it up with either cranberry / the Egyption Dates (depending which one you chose)

If you need to see the measurements, please click on the first post below:
My Health Chronicles: Eating Healthy within Budget – Mini Overnight Oats #1

The outcome of using soaked rolled oats

I realized that there’s a bit of water at the top so if you have stocked it to the brim, please be a little careful while opening it. I am uncertain of the reason; it could be the natural yogurt.
Another thing is that the oats are naturally smoother compared to without first soaking it with hot water. It treated my gut really well as my toilet visits were smoother.

My friend also recommended mixing a 60% buckwheat and 40% oat for a nice breakdown of the protective layer for roll oats; but if you are using instant oats, you naturally will not need to worry about constipation unless your digestive system really needs to be looked upon.
Well, I hope this post provides you some extra tips for your overnight oats, especially for those who tend to have a sensitive stomach.

I hope you enjoyed this health sharing as much as I have enjoyed preparing it.

PS: Both these recipes still does not cross over MYR2

(you can divide 4.3 for USD value)

Another thing that I found it useful is that if I consistently take these meals as either breakfast or brunch (whichever you choose), keep an eye on sales for soon expiring raw materials like sunflower seeds and berries; and during festive seasons if you are targeting Middle Eastern Sweet Dates (which usually lasts for a year at least). If you have your own sunflower at home it is even better if you are hardworking enough to harvest them yourself.

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

ps: currently powering up as SDB is a little weak at the moment.

Sort:  

How about masala oats, those are also as healthy as the normal ones?

I have not tried masala oats just yet, but as far as I know masala is better to be used in cooking form, while these overnight oats is basically uncooked.
I love the masala spices and I usually have it with potatoes and daal. I think this spice works well cooking because it will need other spices including tumeric which will not taste so well if it is served cold. (I tried cold milk with tumeric before).
Thank you so much for your inquiry and your visit @codingdefined .

Great to know, thanks :)

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yummy recipes and I love how you've talked about the health benefits! This is so great! I get so many of my ingredients in Malaysia <3 I hope we can meet up next time I am there!
I soak almost everything I eat (nuts, beans, etc) Did you soak your chia seeds? If not, I suggest doing that as well. I soak mine and leave them in a mason jar in the fridge for easy access so I always have them or vegan eggs as they call them, anytime I need =D

haha.. I think when we go through experiences, it makes the suggested recipe more sense.
I look forward to meet up with you @heart-to-heart , and love hearing how you go through your vegan life. I probably will not be 100% vegan (I love cheese!) but I have been swaying more towards non-meat products now.
The overnight oats recipe makes it pretty wonderful for the chia seed to soak. they will be smooth on the outside, yet could still bite a tiny bit of fibre inside. I didn't quite like the totally mushy chia seeds.
I never really heard of them called as vegan eggs before, but the soaked chia seeds looked a lot like fish eggs.
So let me know when you are about to fly. We will make time for brunch perhaps? Maybe I might poke a few to join us if they are game for vegetarian food LOL.

Thank you so much for making time and visiting this post!

I am excited to meet up with you too :) I never thought I would be vegan but I made vegan cheese that tastes identical (if not better) to the real thing! I'll make you some while I am helping you get your garden going =D

I think the mushiness is something you must get used to for sure, I can see why you might not like them at first haha they are quite like fish eggs. The reason why they are called vegan eggs is because you can use them in the same was as a regular egg in a recipe!

I am going to be coming in on Wednesday afternoon, maybe we can do Thursday afternoon brunch? I have to leave on Friday morning so I don't have much time. I know you live outside of town... I would love to come help you on your garden sometime soon =D

Awesome! Let's defintely do Brunch @heart-to-heart ! I would have so many curious questions for your vegan recipes as I want my parents to have something healthy but most likely not in the cold section like I do.
See you next Thursday! I am so excited!

Still looks good despite it being healthy. I thought i never live to see this day. So i bet u will be slim shapely and highly spirited. Keep it up till i feed u guys with real u healthy food.

LOL. Well, not THAT slim yet. But I am pumping my muscles now. I have been weak for too long and that opens door for darkness to creep into your head.
These are gut friendly food (unless you have leaky gut syndrome you will need to do extra work to soak the oats) and even medical research has proven, a healthy gut leads a happy brain. :)
Thank you so much for making time to stop by @perennial . I hope you will try these one day and see.

I like to take a peep at whats healthy and then return to my roti banjir and nasi lemak sotong coupled with teh tarik but kurang manis. Thats my idea of a good healthy breakfast.

hahaha... maybe try the teh tarik tanpa gula / teh tarik for a start.
I love roti banjir. I just don't take it as frequent like I used to.
When one has gone through the valley of shadow and (almost) death one will learn to stop and listen to one's body. haha.

Owh...i was bedridden once and doc gave me 2 months. That was 9 yrs ago. I cant buy insurance because i have been blacklisted as almost certain to claim.

Live like you will die tomorrow. Hug your loved ones. Tell your friends you appreciate them. Feed some hungry stomachs.

Wow. I feel you. But I also know that when you are still alive, God is not done with you. He restores everyone who walks out of the shadows of valley and death, and He always restores many times fold! I wish you always the best of health and smile always!
Death is just another chapter to me now, I would agree with all your quotes and I would add
Love others like you will leave earth tomorrow
Time is running short. Tic Tic Tic...

Death isnt scary. What is scary is living without having lived.

I think you have mistaken my quote. Death is not scary at all, it is a transition; but the fact that when you know that hell is real (not just on earth) I would not want anyone I care about to face the pure evil without giving anyone a chance to experience the light and love of God (and let them decide themselves)

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I soak rolled steel cut oats with almond or cashew milk and dates and stuff, but I never had a name for them. Overnight oats, I like it!

Oh, I always thought they are called that (the Overnight Oats when I first new about them) @arbitrarykitten haha... I spotted someone mentioned and I searched it through YouTube.
The only thing my target here is because now I have intermediate fast (I snack sparingly for 8-10 hours and fast for 14-16 hours) I spread out my consumption portion, and that is how it all started.
Cashew milk is super expensive here in Malaysia, but I love almond milk (whenever they are available). I tried almond and coconut milk mix too and they are pretty delicious (with a different fragrance and flavour); otherwise I will stick to rice milk, which is thin, light and a perfect mix for my recipe.

Thank you so much for stopping by and for your lovely comment. Much appreciate it!

Oh, yes, I love rice milk too! I make my own almond and cashew milk sometimes when time allows,it's a bit less expensive :)

You are welcome, and great talking with you!

I read somewhere when you pick almonds to make almond milk you have to be careful. Some are layered with something that will be totally smell awful. Have you ever experienced that before @arbitrarykitten ?

And likewise! Great talking to you too! And awesome that you are in our discord!

I have yet to pick almonds. I purchase mine bulk from the grocer. I'm in the Pacific NW of the USA, I am not sure if almonds even grow here!

I am happy to be a part of the group!

Organic ones? I always keep hearing that GMO products are everywhere in the States.

Oh, they are :( But I try to get the least of the evils :( Theres no escape

Wow, these recipes sound wonderful... Never thought of mixing these together, even though I love all the ingredients and consume them separately. Never thought of soaking the oats either! I normally soak all my beans and nuts before cooking. Great tips, thanks!! :)

Oh, do try them out ackhoo, if you do not mind consuming them cold. :)
Depending on your container, you can ratio the ingredients promptly.
And yes, when you have it in them, they feel like cold porridge but fresh goodness. They can last 3 - 4 days in the fridge too so it is really useful for prepping food in advance.

Let me know when you actually try it and share your experience!

Thank you so much for making time and visiting this post

I will let you know.... I do love cold milk with muesli n cereals n oats.... so I should love this too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44