You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Raw Water: Are These Guys Sociopaths or Just Greedy Jerks?

in #health7 years ago

I believe for some people it is not so bad to drink raw water. If you immune system is strong enough, I think it won't hurt you buth the problem is modern technology. It's making our immune system lazy and so will most people get sick if they first start drinking raw water. I like to see it as allergies. 2 generations before us, people with allergies where an exception. Since people started to desinfectie there houses, filtering there water and boiled everything before eating it, allergies started popping up in our generation and among our children.

Sort:  

Look, before communities started treating drinking water, lots of people got sick from it. Cholera, typhoid, and dysentery were commonly contracted by the tough sort of pioneers that you imagine. There is some merit in not letting yourself be in too sterilized an environment, but I wouldn't want to drink raw water anymore than I'd eat raw eggs. People have been -- at least -- boiling water for a long time. They've also used different methods to filter it.

Besides, these guys are charging hundreds of times the cost of regular, safe, tap water to bottle this, and it's in awful taste in an age when there are Americans who don't have access to clean water that isn't by choice.

Ofcourse not all is black or white. I am also not a big fan of drinking water from the first creek or river I pass by. There are more save méthodes to do this I believe. I personally don't have a problem with drinking small amounts of water from a small waterfall or something and I eat raw eggs regularly by the way (only from my own chickens). I never got sick from it and I have a great immune system. Buth again, I would never try water that has been standing still in some creek.
The guys who sell that water, in my eyes they are criminals. They are taking advantage of just another hype that can be dangerous if some foul thinks he can earn as much as them selling water from some dirty creek to people who don't know any better.

I feel bad for the Americans that don't have access to clean water. Here in Belgium everyone has acces to clean water and we all just take it for granted.

Well, we took it for granted too for awhile. Then we heard about Flint, Michigan. Puerto Rico has problems that were made worse by the hurricane. Let's say that many Americans can take it for granted, but they all can't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61179.86
ETH 2631.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46