You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tiptoeing around a fragile mind

in #health7 years ago

After growing up in a house with a psychopath, I developed a kind of reflex. If someone wants to be treated as an adult, all the while demanding deference for their delicate sensibilities, I tend to laugh, out loud, in their face. It's not simply to be mean, but I just can't take it seriously.

Sort:  

What is the general reaction to your approach?
No psychopath, in my home I was blessed with the company of narcissistic personality disorder.

When I was young it would depend on how fast I could duck. Since I've been an adult, it is usually met with retreat, not fear, just withdrawal. Many psychopaths don't like it when you can see them. When I was a kid I got knocked down a few times. If I'm going to laugh, I like to be ready for what might happen.

Attention seeking puppies that have been scolded.

I would suggest that you are more rounded, stronger person for it and probably hold a great deal of understanding across a wider spectrum than many.

I've thought that to be the case, but I often think of the many who went through similar experiences and did not survive. I almost did not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64439.19
ETH 2775.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64