Energy, Clarity, And Healthful VitalitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Mitochondria are more than our friends.
They are more than necessary to our survival.
At a very fundamental level, they are us,
and we would not be ourselves without them.

We would more likely survive the removal of all our bones,
than removal of our mitochondria,
not that attempting either one would be advisable,
though, it would be a helluva body mod. Look Ma, no bones!

One of the critical parts of aging is an increase in mitochondrial dysfunction.
If we take care of our mitochondria, they will take care of us.
I don't think I need to explain the benefits of mitigating the effects of aging.
Who is not interested in staying physically young as long as possible?

Some negative effects of mitochondrial dysfunction include,

Brain fog
Short term memory problems
Anxiety
Depression
Lack of energy

Some things which will decrease mitchondrial function are:

Light stress, fluorescent lights, or just the wrong spectrum at the wrong time of day

Mold, ochratoxin A and aflatoxin are two common in food,
mycotoxins are some of the most powerful toxins we encounter,
I, myself, have felt the rage, headaches, and brain fog that can be caused by mold toxins.

Air, water pollutants, and contamination in our food

Medications

Infections, including periodontal disease

Food sensitivities including lectins, gluten, casein or other proteins

Emotional stress, including PTSD which can engage your sympathetic nervous system.

High sugar intake, especially fructose

Some things that can help support mitochondrial function are:

Increase blood flow to the brain, exercise increases nerve growth factors.

Control your exposure to differing light spectra,
red in the morning and evening, bright blues at the height of the day.

The box breath can be effective in disengaging your fight or flight response
(sympathetic nervous system),

heart rate variability training,

Do things to support hormone function.

Increase ketones (intake of healthy fats),
A good omega 3 and omega 6 balance

Antioxidants including polyphenols, coffee, tea, chocolate,
colorful berries and purple vegetables

The use of calming supplements, such as,
L-theonine, which increases GABA
passionflower
lemon balm
magnesium, zinc, sulfur

Head Strong Q&A with Dave Asprey and Dr. Mark Atkinson

==============================================================================

Dr. Terry Wahls on Mitochondria, Health & Vegetables

==============================================================================

https://blog.bulletproof.com/head-strong-podcast/
https://blog.bulletproof.com/dr-terry-wahls-on-mitochondria-health-vegetables-bulletproof-radio/

This is part of my research and is not medical advice.
Consult your doctor.

image: upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/44/Blausen_0644_Mitochondria-es.png
video/audio: www.youtube.com/watch?v=6eUjDIDZn9o
www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeBs4tXJVAE

Sort:  

We are on the same page with this one... thanks.

Got through your videos, would you like the summation :)

Anyways great videos, clarified some of the ideas behind nutrition, ketogenic diet and so on, I've been missing out on the full picture for quite a while now, Thanks for the pieces :)

I will use your videos on my future posts, if I do I will link to them, so far I'm still to sit down and do the full writing.

I would love to share my experiences with games, and nutrition for the past 5++ years.

Thank you for sharing !

Thank you for the comments.

I'm always looking for things people want to know. I'm usually unclear on what it is that people already know. Any further interests, thoughts or questions, please let me know.

Well, I did know almost all of it, to be frank, but still, the details are interesting and seeing it from somebody else clears some things out, also the added bonus of another experience is a good deal too :)

Right now I'm a bit stumped on an issue, I'm one that is inflamed to the brink it seems :D and no amount of good food has saved me so far, I did make the mistake of going all in and dropping most of my nutrients, this past year, everything was great when I wasn't minimising my intake, I wanted to do intermittent fasting, but kind of failed because of a lack of experience and funds.

Anyway, you are on a good course with overall health and wellbeing.

Interests would be herbs for me and natural remedies, questions would go, what about water(since that is my main point of interest currently).

Maybe something will pop up, right now I'm a bit stumped.

Thank you for taking the time :) , Cheers !

I'm putting together a post about water. I haven't sorted out all the details yet. I drink, primarily, distilled water, and not too much. I have found that when I stick to a healthy diet, my body tells me when I am thirsty and intermittent fasting becomes involuntary, as I forget to eat when I have adequate nutrients and fuel.

I don't use too many herbs anymore, except the ones I use in my food. Turmeric, black pepper, horseradish, cocoa, fresh ground vanilla, cinnamon, dandelion tea, rose hip tea for vitamin C, they grow everywhere, the aforementioned lemon balm and passion flower, these are some of the herbs, and plant products not usually considered substantive parts of the diet. I load up on them. Too much can be used, but I let my taste buds and how I feel dictate how much is too much.

I use some things not considered natural, because, under normal conditions, they're not. Ozone, colloidal silver (sparingly) that I make for myself, and tuned electrical pulses, to control acidity, with this, I can shut off a flu like using a switch. I do sometimes wonder if I should allow myself to get sick once in a while, it just never seems convenient. It has been almost six years since I've had a cold or flu.

haha, good one about the flu, I did get there and for ~2 years had that, but I was constantly active and eating mostly vegetables and what I had cooked for myself and dairy for the protein a few eggs, but I had not really got the basics down.

About water, I can check on some past posts, since I'm also interested in the topic I did read up on it, but not enough to make a clear picture. What I do remember was an article from some Indian doctor, that said water cures 80% of diseases, like migraines and such.

Also if, hahahah I was going to link you to yourself :D

How I Made My Mind My Bitch (Or, How To Hack Your Effectiveness) (Dave Asprey)

:D

Cheers I guess I will rewatch that again

Here is what I watched before your video, have to say I found your a bit baffling and I did enjoy everything you shared there, I even linked it around, you seemed like a Russian Space Agent :D




44:56
How to hack your biology and be in the zone every single day

Some information on breathing and psychology.

btw I did pull 5 nighters so far on steemit and have to say my next day gets wrecked, I sleep for 6 hours and wake up at 1pm, following that I have 5 hours of daylight and with the added benefit of fatigue, I'm not sure I can trust you on the 5 allnighters :D

thanks for this article, it's very informative and useful, I think

Thank you for the comment. I hope this helps.

I will at least try out some of your suggestions

watched the videos? there are details there, informative on a few fields: genetics, nutrition, diseases, auto-immune problems, and solutions, etc.etc.

Good information to get people started and to get people back on track and clear out some misconceptions (like myself).

It has always fascinated me that we inherit our mitochondrial DNA solely from our mother. Isn't that amazing?

Sorry to dads everywhere, you don't get to pass that on.

This certainly isn't genetically convenient for patriarchy.

It's privilege, don't you know?

Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44