Where is the finishing line?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Women running.jpg
Photo credit 'Women's Fitness'
Last month I had to go for my mammogram and ultrasound check at the hospital. This is the annual routine that I have been doing ever since I was diagnosed with the big C (breast cancer) 5 years ago.

For the past 4 years, I have been diligently going for my follow up checks with all my doctors. During those times, I did not fear these checks, didn’t give much thought to it as I know that whatever the outcome, I will deal with it just as I had done when I was first diagnosed with BC.

However, this year was different. I was nervous, jittery and anxious for my upcoming checks. I was into my 5th as a cancer survivor and this will be the year where my oncologist determines if I am to stop taking the medication to control my BC. In these 5 years, this is my finishing line. The race stops here, one milestone completed.

So, why so nervous and jittery about this year’s checkup? I was afraid, I was worried, what if my test results were not favourable? I can see the finishing line but can I make it?

Life changed for me since that day when I was diagnosed. I made more effort to take care of myself and to be healthy, which means giving up some of my favourite food, exercise more, be more patient, learn to let go and much more. A lot of conscious effort were made, a lot of trials and tribulations because I want to finish the race and touch the finishing line.

Thankfully, my test results came out Ok, I could not ask for more. Happily, I went to see my breast surgeon. While she was encouraging and happy for my results, she then went on to inform me that it would be best that I continue another 5 years with a different medication. Huh? Another 5 years of medication? Didn’t they tell me that it was only for 5 years? Surprise surprise! So, there now, another 5 years of medication, and another finishing line to race to.

Where do these finishing lines ever end? We chart many goals in our lives but these finishing lines don’t just end there. We merely cross over them and start another race…..

Dont wait.jpg
Photo credit 'Reflection from me'

Sort:  

There never really a finishing line. Just when we think it's over, another issue crops up :(. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

True, but there is a finishing line... when God takes us home.

Then to answer these questions:

  1. Did I fight the good fight?
  2. Did I complete the race?
  3. Have I kept the faith?

...And then to honestly claim these words: "I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing." - 2 Timothy 4:7-8

Ohmmm.... :p

Hello @lianmok. So touching... I am so sorry for your sickness. But I am also glad that you didn't allow it to weigh you down. You are so positive about everything by making extra effort to live a healthy life. I am very sure you will reach your finishing line. I wish you the very best. And I am very proud of you!!

Thank you @beth147 for your kind words and encouragement. It has been quite a journey and it is through family and friends that I have the strength and courage to move on.

Thank you for thanking me. You will definitely get the needed strenght and courage. Thanks once again

Thank you for sharing, please change one of your tag to tellyourstory2018

Gosh, I missed out that tag! Now done! Thank you for pointing this out!

Congratulations @lianmok! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57