Do you spend a lot of time on Steemit? Follow these tips and protect your eyes 👀

in #health7 years ago

Since I met Steemit my life has changed. Now I spend a lot of time on the computer and cell phone, reading your new post and generating content for you. Although from the emotional point of view has influenced positively because it has pushed me to be more creative and the acceptance of my content makes me want to publish much more but too much exposure to the screen has impacted me in a negative way.

I wanted to investigate the damage caused by this light in the eyes and discovered that it weakens the retina. To explain you better, the retina is the part of the eye that receives light and is composed of two cells: cones and rods. The cones help you to adapt to excessive light and help you to distinguish the color. On the other hand, rods serve for low-light conditions and allow you to see black and white colors.

After exposing yourself to several hours on the computer, you may experience a Computer vision syndrome, which will sooner or later force you to wear glasses for tired eyes. Science has researched multiple foods and discovered that many have beneficial properties for our eyes.


Source: google

The ideal plan would be to use Calendula officinalis based pills, which stimulates the sensation of relief; Lutein, a yellow pigment found in plants and egg yolk; And zeaxanthin, a substance that the retina needs to filter out the sun's rays.

A group of scientists found that drinking a smoothie made with kiwi, kale, and milk, can provide the same effects as the pills I mentioned. They tested it for twelve weeks and found that it helps to improve the visibility of the yellow and blue colors; The levels of pigments that protect the eye increased significantly as well as the acuity of night vision.

Source: google

Based on these findings, the final question is: Should we use supplements to protect our eyes?

Based on scientific studies, we should. If we maintained a balanced diet, which in countries like Venezuela is economically impossible, it would not make a great difference the use of these supplements since daily we would contribute to our body the substances necessary to be in balance. In other countries, where the stress of everyday life prevents you from eating at the right times and the right portions, the same thing happens.

My personal recommendation is that you always try to have a balanced diet and take more than a liter of water a day. You should also increase the intake of green vegetables and combine their consumption with some fats because this will absorb the fat-soluble compounds of these foods better and your eyes will not tired of being in Steemit 👀

Thanks for reading 😃 ❤️

Upvote

Resteem

Follow me @ladaural

Sort:  

Nice touch with the eyes! Amazing :)

Thank you, it is important to take care of them to continue on steemit :D

The blue colors also make it more difficult for you to fall asleep by disrupting your circadian rythm.

Some apps like "Twilight" (on Android and maybe iOS) filter those colors out and replace them with red hues (like sunset).

It's also recommended to stay a screen-length plus 1 away, and dim your laptop/display brightness whenever possible :)

But hey, vitamins are awesome too, just not a cure-all or replacement for safe usage habits.

I didnt know about that app. Thanks for your comment, I'll check that.

If your on a laptop/computer, download f.lux this will filter blue light out :)

Nice article!
Extra tip: try some blue light-blocking glasses for extended periods of computer usage, especially in the evenings and at night.
I have been using some for the last few months and my eyes seem to be less strained and I sleep better.

Nice post! I think we should focus on quality of life :D

@ladaural

Yes that's also important :)

It would seem that the kale smoothie would help to guard against macular degeneration, too.

Yes, it is very beneficial for health :D

I would suggest using f.lux at night to block blue light which has negative effect. You can find something similar for cell phones.

Yes, it is a good recommendation. Thanks for your comment. :D


Yes, I spend a lot of time on the computer and my eyes are hurting because I have "dry eyes" plus eye allergy. And I was wondering how much damage the computer screen really does to the eyes. Should a person buy a certain screen or leave a background light on. Will this help offer some protection from glare. I was just wondering. Thank you for this wonderful post.

I'm glad that my post helped you. You have nice eyes, please take care of them!

I really enjoyed reading this article about exposing our eyes too much in front of screens. The tips you mentioned are helpful and I ll try to use it as a protection for my eyes Thanks for that !

Thank you! I hope my advice will help you! Steem on :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60