WTF = WF

in #health8 years ago

image

Whole Foods

For many ( like myself), this is the only store I like to shop for good in.

They have done a great job with market the wholesomeness of their foods as well as the "organic" angle.

Well a while back I was in my local Whole Foods looking for a good fish for dinner. As I approached the fish counter the Salmons vibrant color drew my eye. What a magnificent color and patterning the flesh had. I looked at others but kept coming back to it.

Farm Raised

Now I never buy "Farm Raised" fish as it conjures up many things in my mind... so I always look at the labels to let me "hopefully" know where it came from.

Pacific Poison

As example I no longer by any fish from the pacific since the Fukushima disaster... too much radiation and risk for me. I mean we are doused daily from chemical particals in the sky, to the plastics at our feet, so why intentionally ingest more?

Well this selection stated it came from Norway... check North Atlantic waters. But then righ next to it It states, "boldColor Addedbold", whoa what is this new twist in marketing?

Clarification

So I asked called the clerk and asked what at "Whole Foods" does the Salmon say color added, aren't you folks selling "Organic", "Natural", "Healthy" foods?

He said it was natural as the salmon are fed carrots to gain the coloring.

Carrots?!

Now I am no fish expert, but I do know Salmon don't eat carrots... just not the cycle of nature a happening here!

Needless to say I did not buy it, instead I opted for a fresh "Caught", Atlantic Swordfish.

Healthy Eating

Is getting harder every day... even in markets reputed for their organic, natural foods. So just a quick reminder do your due diligence even while shopping in reputed stores where...

Marketing is more important than the market.

Good luck out there.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho
Sort:  

Thnx for bringing this to discussion @kyusho , eating natural organic food this days is harder than reaching 75 reputation in steemit :\

You got that right... I started growing my own which seems even more daunting.

@kyusho the staff is obviously making the carrot up
buy organic indeed better yet, grow your own food :)

Not to be argumentative, but that is what the Fish Counter Clerk told me first hand.

Then there is this from Wholefoods themselves:

"When they’re farmed, their feed contains fish species that do not necessarily contain the same pigments, so a non-synthetic pigment is added to give salmon the color that customers are used to seeing and are expecting."
sourceshttp://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/blog/our-farmed-salmon-goes-beyond-industry-norms

There is more when you google it.

Honestly the whole "organic is better" movement is a huge money making fallacy. Whole Foods is making MILLIONS a year by selling you these things. Just eat good foods. Veggies, lean meat. Make good choices.

Yes! Too me it is much more important to support local farms than to buy organic products that have been shipped in from across the country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59112.75
ETH 2519.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47