Steemit Weekly Health Contest - Beef and Rice Stuffed Red Bell Peppers

in #health6 years ago (edited)

banner2

thanks, @healthsquared and @sweetsssj for this interesting Health Contest! I love challenges, so when I found this contest - I was happy! I am a healthy eater (usually), I love cooking, so let me share my recipe. Today I am cooking Peppers stuffed with beef (you would need just 20 mins and you would be amazed how delicious is your meal!)

So what makes the recipe healthy - healthy ingredients and healthy way of cooking (don't need a low of oil or fry the dish). Today I am going to use the slow cooker, which allows cooking without any additional oils - you would use the natural juice of the vegetables and all ingredients.

IMG_0318.png

this recipe is super Russian traditional and it how mum cooked it for me when I was a child.

Ingredients per 4 servings:

4 medium red peppers
1 lb ground beef
1⁄2 cup chopped onion
1 cup of rice
1⁄2 teaspoon salt (optional)
1⁄4 teaspoon pepper
1 whole tomato

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook rice with the pinch of salt.
  2. Cut tops off peppers and remove seeds.
  3. Mix ground beef. cooked rice, salt and pepper together.
  4. Lightly stuff peppers with meat mixture.

IMG_0317.png

  1. Spread 1 tablespoon remaining tomato sauce on top of each portion of stuffing; place reserved tops onto peppers.

IMG_0316.png

  1. Place everything in the slow-cooker. Slice the tomato and place on the top of peppers. Set up 4 hours high temp cooking settings.

  2. Serve with sour cream.

Nutrition facts:

Per Serving: 376 calories; 16.9 g fat; 26.3 g carbohydrates; 30.3 g protein; 82 mg cholesterol; 1724 mg sodium

So as you see here - the meal is low in fat and high in protein - super healthy and fresh - good for the summer time!
Enjoy it and say me thanks in the comment below!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01