I've Seemingly Earned Myself a "Zombie" Foot... FML

in #health7 years ago

Ole KLYE has never been one to complain about an injury or brag about busted body parts.. But given the absolute odd nature of this current issue I've got, feels wrong not to share.

It all started out with a tumble down a 4 step set of stairs on the front of my house, the skipthedishes courier had arrived with a (un)healthy feast of cheeseburgers and poutine and I wasn't watching my footing, before you know it KLYE is on the ground, landing on his butt basically right jarring his tailbone. The courier watched all this in horror and asked me if I was alright a handful of times and was on his way.. I gimped in the house and proceeded to eat all the things.

...Fast Forward a Few Days...

I awaken to my right ankle swollen up a bit and hurting when I step on it, no big deal right? Probably sprained the bastard when I fell.. Atleast my ass bone isn't sore anymore. Gimping around thinking it's likely going to be better tomorrow I power on. Being the stubborn dick I am, continue like this for 3 days or so... Until I wake up one morning to this:

Of course I'm at this point nearly going into shock due to the pain when I walk around, thinking now I've maybe broken my ankle I decide to go to the doctors.. a few more picks of my foot before I went below:

Starting to think I should have went the day it got sore...

Annnnd Off to the Emergency Room I Go..!

While some may seeing the emergency room nurses with a 12 pack of donuts to improve your triage status a "dirty" move I'll tell you right now.. It works. Within a few hours I was in to see a doctor. Turns out that the redness and swelling I was seeing wasn't from the ankle being sprained or broken, which after a handful of x-rays they seemed to determine.

Turns out it was a soft tissue infection of some type... FML... In goes the IV and they order me to show up for the next week for IV antibiotics.. So off they send me home with a friggin needle stuck out of my arm.

Not having had an IV in over 2 decades I gotta tell ya, those damn things are uncomfortable! Trying to type, draw or do much of anything with that right hand was bruuuuuutal. But better than a nubbin' leg I guess? My favourite part of it is when they'd shoot me up with cold saline.. Felt like taking a drink through my arm! Getting the IV antibiotics was an odd feeling too..

Certainly have found a new respect for those in the medical profession. Everyone that I dealt with was super kind and concerned for my well being.. Certainly couldn't pay me enough to do a nurse or doctors job!

A close up shot of the IV on the 3rd or 4th day.. Man was it uncomfortable!

Current State of KLYE's Zombie Foot

I'm on some heavy duty antibiotics after finishing my week of IV treatment. Getting that damn thing out was a huge relief. At the ver y least I can type and use a mouse without terrible needle pains in my arm. The brand name for the drug I'm on is Keflex I believe. I'll be going back to the doctor in the next day or so for a follow up, my ankle still gets extremely swollen and pissed off if I walk on it too much.. Which sucks because that's my main mode of transportation!

Here is a picture of my zombie foot as of posting this...

Still sore as hell and infected but not as bad as it was.. right?

Serves me right for waiting so long and hoping it would go away!Q Hoping I don't have lasting damage or develop any complications but we'll see. Will keep the community posted on the state of my zombie foot regardless! Thank you for reading and voting folks!



VOTE
KLYE

for
Witness

 

Sort:  

Is it wrong that a story about you falling and somehow developing foot cabbage made me laugh? Maybe you just wrote it that way on purpose, good story

Mmmmm. Cold saline. Love that stuff make me only want that instead of water ever again.

Waoooo, sorry for such pain. I pray you recover so soon

Don't Die Klye!!! Glad you are on the mend, friend! Rhyme Time!

Sorry to hear @klye ! That burger and poutine you ordered I hope was worth it ! Kidding my fellow canadian friend ! lol! hope it etsbetter soon ! its alll ready looking better !upped and resteemed👍👍👍😀

hopefully heal quickly,@klye next time be careful when walking.

Wishing you a speedy recovery with no lasting effects.

Well - once i was slipped, my feet swelled just like yours, My Dad massaged me for three days continuosly, with Oil and Salt in it, by ehating it up! Daily 4-7 times massage.
The pain was finished within week, and i was able to walk again.

@kyle, pain is such not a good thing. My Sister-in-law had had a very "bad" accident while walking on tiles, she slipped and broke her leg, the leg was put in POP for almost three months, her life literally stopped. There are foods she can't eat no more, places she can't go, things she can't do. It was really a sad season

Her family were there for her all through, i have seen families that abandoned their loved ones when they needed them most. i call that double tragedy

Even injured he keeps his steem pimp hand ready for action. Get well soon man. You being a zombie has a bit of a ring to it. I would rather take a healthy and happy version any day though.

I twisted my ankle and foot a soft tissue infection! It was a bastard and made it take ages to heal! Good luck dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60