What would happen if you cut sugar from your diet?

in #health7 years ago


Benefits of Reducing Sugar

  • less inflammation (inflammation is at the root of many diseases)
  • more sustained energy (tip: replace the sugary foods with food with healthy fats (avocados, coconut oil, olive oil, flax and chia seeds)
  • better teeth health (less decay = lower chance of cavities)
  • healthier immune system

You could have immediate health benefits or gradual health benefits by cutting down sugar. Results depend on how much sugar you are consuming before you decided to cut down. Typically, if you eat a high sugar diet (including natural fructose, found in fruits), you’ll notice your energy level may drop immediately after you’ve reduced sugar intake. (Don’t worry, it will come back!)

I’ve seen two approaches work well for reducing sugar in their diet - it all depends on your personal decision/preference. 

One method is to completely cut out sugar - aim for 30 days and grab a friend or support group - makes it easier to stick to the plan. 

And the second is to gradually reduce the amount of sugar in your diet, week by week. First week cut out sugar in beverages, next sugar in refined foods, etc. Also, think about not only the simple sugars, but the complex sugars, found in refined goods, starchy vegetables and many grains, which have the same effect of raising blood sugar levels, once ingested.Using the occasional natural sweetener is fine, but consider coconut sugar instead of honey, which has a lower glycemic index. While natural sweeteners offer some health benefits, keep in mind your liver does not know the difference of natural sugars and table sugar and processes them similarly in your body. The excess sugar is stored as fat in your body.

For fruit intake, aim for fruits with peels and reduce tropical fruits (which tend to be higher in sugar). Fruits with peels, such as apples, pears, and oranges contain fiber, which slows insulin response and may reduce sugar cravings.

Have you had any success in minimizing your sugar intake?  If so please share your tips, with diabetes at a all-time high its definitely a topic of discussion.

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @ king.steele I have a tendency to get fat because I'm always taking care of myself and the first thing I stop to consume is sugar and carbohydrates, very interesting for us to mention, thank you very much for this good material

Thank you! Your not the only one, its a habit I have broken then relapse then broken again many times.

I've had to kick the addiction several times. Two health benefits that I can't stop raving about are the following: I no longer wake up 3-4 times per night, I usually sleep straight through. I see this change happen around week 1 of cutting processed sugars out of my diet. The second benefit is that I no longer wake up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat.

I wonder what percentage of people who are prescribed sleeping pills just need their doctor to tell them to improve their diet.

You are on to something @youngoldengurrl .....I wonder if the typical doctor would put more emphasis on diet or just quickly write a prescription

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

As a person who has conquered a horrible sugar addiction, I truly appreciate your post! It took twenty-one days of horrible headaches to finally start feeling better and beat the cravings, and here I am 3 years later enjoying the (mostly) sugar-free life!

I still enjoy a piece of birthday cake once in a while, or some fruit, but days and sometimes weeks will go by without any refined sugar passing my lips. I'll take the healthier immune system, better looking skin, and less bulky frame over eating sugar any day!

Thanks for sharing!!!

Thank you for commenting on your success, it shows that it CAN be done.

I swapped out sugar in my tea and coffee for clear honey. It tastes great and is much better for you.

Plus honey helps with allergies from pollination...great tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66