I helped save 3 lives in 21 minutes... and so can you!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I have O+ blood and get called on a regular basis to donate. I actually don’t mind giving blood. Needles don't bother me. I don’t get lightheaded or feel sick whenever I give. However, I don’t really have a good enough of an excuse as to why I don’t donate more often, except that I’m busy or that I don’t want to go by myself.

In researching for this blog post, I learned that blood can be safely donated every 56 days. Platelets can be given every seven days, up to 24 times a year. The American Red Cross says that although 38% of the population is eligible to give blood products, only 3% does. So, I decided to document my last trip to take the mystery out of what happens when you give blood. Just be sure to drink water and eat before going in.

giving blood.jpg

The Time It Took (21 Minutes)

  • I walked in the local Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center without an appointment and waited. (2 minutes)
  • I was brought into a little private room where a really nice lady took my temperature, height, weight and pricked my finger to test my blood. I also answered an online questionnaire and shared Steemit with her. (12 minutes)
  • I gave blood and shared Steemit with the other girl who poked my arm with the needle. During this time, I received a beach towel as a gift and grabbed an orange juice on the way out. (7 minutes)
  • Then, I went home to yummy crock pot beef stew that had been cooking for 10 hours.

One pint of blood saves 3 lives... 21 minutes saves 3 lives!

Depending on your blood type, you can donate whole blood, platelets and/or plasma. Being an O+, my whole blood and platelets are wanted. However, rather than get into who can donate what to whom, I found a graph that made the impact more real because it tied it all back to people I know and love.

chart.jpg

(Image Source)

It hits home.

My mom had a quadruple bypass 2 years ago. My friend Randell (just signed up for Steemit and waiting on approval), who has cerebral palsy, just fought a battle with leukemia. My friend Elena fights complications from breast cancer. It hits home when you tie it to people.

Giving blood is one thing that is in my control today.

I realized that of all the things that I’m signed up for such as giving blood, joining bethematch.org to be a bone marrow donor and signing the back of my driver’s license to be an organ donor… giving blood is one thing that is in my complete control today.

So, I'm thinking instead of having a mani/pedi get together with my friends, we can do a group outing to the blood center instead and I'll be sure to document all the fun!

Finally a shout out to all Steemians who have donated or will donate because they are inspired!

THANK YOU! And, please feel free to share your thoughts as to why you committed to donating more often or even why you may consider donating for the first time.

Please comment, vote, resteem and/or follow me if you had fun or were inspired! Your feedback means the world to me.

Much Luv,

@karencarrens

Sort:  

Karen this is an awesome post, and an awesome thing that you did. Fantastic write up and great details for anyone looking to do it and all the reasons why to give blood. Nice work.

Thank you! I went ahead and took out the first video to shorten the post. And, I also made the picture smaller so it wouldn't take too long to load. Thanks for all you do to help me! I really appreciate it.

now you are making me feel guilty i have o- and hate needles really hate them ahhhhh but i should go donate ....

Hey @thelifeofbrian, I get it! I like needles and it took a perspective shift for me to commit in my heart to go more often... keep me posted if you go! Have someone else hold the camera in case you pass out. 😉 That would trend for bravery! 🚀

Lol good one ... Enjoy the day ....

you are more than welcome. I'm sure your hard work will pay off.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bitcoinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow! That's amazing!!! ❤️💕💞

I bet that is some really good blood. 😄

It is! They are always in need of donors, so they're not picky.

They are a little picky. My Mom is O negative, the rarest and they used to call from the hospital all the time when someone needed her blood. Until about 20 years ago when she was diagnosed with diabetes.

Well, yeah, you're right. My husband can't give because he was stationed in Europe during the mad cow scare. How are you today? I will drop in soon. :)

I am fine, thank you for asking. I know you always just fine.

Excellent job!

I live in Spain and am unable to donate blood because I'm English?!

Anyway, I have resteemed your awesomeness!

Awwww! Thank you for the resteem and support! Yes, you can't give. Too bad but I understand why. So, what part of Spain are you in? I have a friend in Spain who's going to join Steem soon. Can't wait!

Great! Currently living in Valencia, I think it's a cool place to live!

I hate blood :/ in and out... Nice to see you be brave enough to do it...

If you donate money also counts?:p

Hi @kid4life, yes, it counts. Appreciate the support on my post! It was lots of fun to do. Who knows maybe the ladies in the blood center will all be getting on Steemit soon! Anyways, giving blood doesn't bother me at all, so I don't feel brave. hehe

Thank you so much for donating! I had to have an emergency blood transfusion about 3yrs ago. I wish I knew who my donor was, because I would be thanking them right now! I am so thankful/grateful for anyone who gives blood!

Wow @lriddle, you just made me tear up. That's scary what you went through. I hope you're okay! I think you probably are since I see 3 exclamation points in your comment. :)

wonderful write up... you are lucky it doesn't bother you

Thank you @rebeccabe for the encouragement. It is strange why it doesn't phase me one bit! I will for sure visit your blog soon! 😃

Just doing a little background work before I add your Overrun by Resteems in your Blog? post to the #resteem-that series.

Why doesn't this surprise me. ~smiles~ I used to be a regular donor but no longer qualify because of blood thinners for a heart condition. I had a hard time with this but I've gotten over it.

I will say here how gratfeul I am for those who do donate. I've had numerous heart operations over the years and want others to know that givers like you are unsung heroes in my book. <3

p.s. while I'm here I just wanted to ask if I could copy your giving photo in my own post. I'll be sure to source it right back here. ;) Ummm...that is you right?

Keep up the great work, you are one of the reasons many choose not to leave Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54