You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Persistent Myths About DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness) That Need to Die

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone I wanted to add to the DOMs article.

I have been a trainer since 2009, ex collegiate soccer player, and have been coaching since 2003.

When looking at DOMs you have to step back and realize that you have made a major change in your routine daily activity. The body is highly regulated, whether you know it or not. So the first workout or the return to working out creates a massive calorie deficit. Simply put you burn more than you take in, and then you have the delay in the rebuilding of the tissue that takes 2-4 days to complete. (This all depends on calorie intake more than age, gender, or even fitness level!!!)

Throwing in a significant amount of work that the tissue is not used to will do a couple of things. You deplete glycogen and other energy stores used for routine activities and 2 you also tear the muscles fibers down.

(When you are training regularly the body is used to this and the fibers don't tear as much and your nutritional intake offsets the response the body provides when experiencing DOMS. You just don't realize how much you have adjusted physically and nutritionally over time to eliminate it.)

So to eliminate the possibility of DOMS
1 keep up on your workouts.

2 when you train hard for the first time in a long time or ever you need to have a significant amount of carbs, fats, protein, water, plant sugars, magnesium, creatine, iron, electrolytes, and more. This will help reduce DOMS, or if you hit all the nutrients needed it will eliminate it all together.

Stretching and icing icing without nutrition will provide little to know impact. Your body has gone catabolic which means it's eating itself. You need to go anabolic which means it's building. And to do that you simply have to have nutrition. Literally nothing else works.

Think about it...
How can you build a house with no material. That's what you are asking your body to do when you don't eat.

Good luck and hit me up on my page. I will be adding tons of content!!! image image image

Sort:  

That's so true. I see so many people try to get in shape by going to the gym, jogging on a treadmill and refusing to eat. They can't lose a pound. their body is clinging to what it has. They end up feeling weak and depressed and don't get why they even pay for the gym. I am a busy person so I don't do anything to burn carbs, then I work the area I want to- abs and butt. Eating whole foods and getting plenty of exercise is the way to go In my opinion. I eat whole fat whole grain and least ingredients possible. but I hear people obsess over every carb-while eating unhealthy and losing zero weight. I have had six kids in a row and am a size 4. people ask how I do it but they would rather eat light processed garbage and jog their energy away. It is mildly frustrating because I care about these people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57