Starting my Journey with the Belizean Sun.....Curative or Cancerous?

in #health6 years ago

Does the Sun have a higher purpose than the Big D?

I was recently made aware of the possibility I am not getting a sufficient amount of sunlight to my body for optimal health. What tipped me off was a man named Dr. Jack Kruse who gave a lengthy Talk in Vermont to a small group attending Nourish Vermont Traditional Foods and Health Gathering, included in this audience are some followers who call themselves Mitochondriacs. They claim with confident appeal that the AM sunlight works crucially with mitochondria biochemical processes giving benefits from weight loss to cancer prevention.

The knowledge that this man shares is something I felt intuitively and had a significant resonance with, although his use of scientific language raises the learning curve quite a bit. He does form basic practical takeaways for the newcomer which was beneficial in forming my foundation for learning more. The two takeaways below are something you can start today in a self-exploration experiment in health and well-being.

Disclaimer: I am grossly oversimplifying as an excited newbie and will not attempt to explain the biochemical science behind Kruse's claims at this time

Takeaway 1: Get More AM Sunlight.

20180202_083628.jpg
The recommendation is to get early morning sunlight through the eyes and skin UNBLOCKED, even if it's cloudy. No sunscreen, No sunglasses, No glasses, and preferably no clothes, if you dare. The latter is generally unrealistic for most of us who don't own our own private island.

Takeaway 2: Ground to the Earth with Your Body.

If you're thinking downward dog and Yoga then you are on the right track.

Make Like the Sphinx

sphinx-pose-photo-by-lucie-kout-560px.jpg
This has some significance with me because about 5 years ago I was seeing a Dr. Lichtig, who practices family medicine, midwifery. I was seeing her for alternative healing methods of Plant, Spirit, Medicine Treatment inspired by a blend of Acupuncture and shamanism of the Huichol peoples of Mexico. Included in my homework was simply walking/standing barefoot or sitting directly on the earth. I did not fully understand at the time, but I did know that something about it felt good. The recommendation is Full Body contact directly to the earth for optimal results.

I started 2 days ago coming out into the sunlight at 7AM soaking it up until about 8AM. I've always tried to make it a point to relax or meditate in some shape or form over the past years. I never felt quite satisfied with the ways I went about it. It was not really scheduled and I felt something was missing. I am still an advocate for daily meditation in some form and am currently honing and finding my way in that. Having two young children it often requires more effort on my part. It has been either listening to meditative music on headphones while lying down or listening to guided meditations or stories while on the porch with a cigarette. (Cessation Challenge Coming Soon) Sand flies and mosquitoes are also an annoying part of the Belizean coastline here in the more remote southern areas. Although I am grateful to them for redirecting the droves of tourists, expats, and the like.

This being my 3rd day I can't tell any obvious health benefits other than I simply look forward to coming out here to the sandy beach in the morning. This is the good kind of addiction! I bring some writing supplies and my guitar, and yes my phone if I want to do some audio meditation or record speech. Honestly the waves are wonderful for that but with the added sounds of boat motors cruising by often. My intuition tells me my body knows what it needs so its important for me to focus enough to really pay attention. With Knowledge, an open mind, and willingness to follow through and reach for optimal health, I believe this is a simple and natural way to improve my overall wellness. This is only one leg of the three-legged stool Jack talks about: Light, Water, and Magnetism maybe a little like the Mind, Body, and Spirit connection. More to come on this and more...

Sort:  

Good stuff. I'm glad it's nourishing you. I definitely believe the sun is good for us. I like the connection of light, water, and magnetism to mind, body, and spirit.

Thank you. I didnt realize how much i was also craving a ritual. What better way than to spend some more time on the beach. Im re-appreciating and reconnecting to this beautiful wild place. Plus the sun is said to be optimal at the equator so thats pretty cool to be just a hair above it. Glad you liked the MBS connection. Could also be metal, water, fire or father, son, holy spirit. Comes in threes!

Mind is kind of metallic sometimes!

Congratulations @jungleblockpower! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jungleblockpower! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49