Diabetes - Can We Cure It Through Diet?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

My father has already lost 3 of his toes from amputations due to diabetic complications. This is a topic close to my heart!

The path of the diabetic is very slippery. As I have seen with my father first you have your toes amputated, then your foot, next you loose your leg. Finally you lose your life!

diabetes.jpg

What Is Diabetes?

Diabetes is a growing and serious condition globally. There are three main types of diabetes: type 1, type 2 and gestational diabetes.

We are told that diabetics can't maintain a healthy level of glucose (sugar) in their body. Glucose is a form of energy for our bodies and unregulated levels can be very unhealthy for us. The hormone insulin is used by the body to convert glucose into energy.

Diabetics no longer produce insulin in their bodies or in insufficient quantities. When people who have diabetes eat glucose it isn't converted into energy. We know that diabetes can:

  • Cause blindness in working age adults
  • Is a major cause of lower limb amputations
  • Increase the risk of heart attacks and stroke by up to four times
  • Cause of kidney failure and dialysis
  • Affect mental and physical health

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 18.45.49.png

Diabetes Is A Growing Global Problem

The statistics from the WHO are scary:

  • The WHO projects that diabetes will be the seventh leading cause of death in 2030
  • The number of people with diabetes has risen from 108 million in 1980 to 422 million in 2014
  • In 2015, an estimated 1.6 million deaths were directly caused by diabetes. Another 2.2 million deaths were attributable to high blood glucose in 2012
  • The global prevalence of diabetes* among adults over 18 years of age has risen from 4.7% in 1980 to 8.5% in 2014
  • Diabetes prevalence has been rising more rapidly in middle- and low-income countries

Clearly this is a big problem and needs to be addressed. Like most things I think that there are natural treatments available and a big part of the solution is: what we eat.

cropped-SimplyRawBanner1-jpg1.jpg

How We Treat Diabetes

From my discussions with my father about the treatment he was receiving in Australia several key issues presented themselves.

He was told by his doctors that he would need insulin for the rest of his life. Along with the insulin he was prescribed a wide variety of expensive pharmaceuticals.

As the years progressed the amount of insulin and pharmaceuticals he was prescribed increased, while he still had to suffer having the surgeons knife cut his off piece by piece. This has been very profitable for his doctors and pharmacists!

Through my personal experiences corrupting doctors detailed in this post and my concerns over corruption in Australia's vaccination system detailed in this post, I have come to distrust some doctors and the big pharmaceutical companies they ultimately work for.

I have been studying natural healing through diet. After all Hippocrates the father of western medicine said: “Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” I began researching diabetes and possible alternative cures and what I found was very interesting.

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 16.52.38.png

A Natural Cure For Diabetes

During my research I came across a fascinating documentary called Simply Raw Reversing Diabetes in 30 Days. This independent documentary chronicles the lives of 6 Americans with ‘incurable’ diabetes. Their journey shows the subjects switching to a vegan, raw and organic diet. By the end of the film all 6 had either reduced their insulin usage or come off insulin completely.

A poignant question is raised by one woman who after reversing her diabetic symptoms and coming off all medication asks:

“I don’t see why my doctors don’t know about this… I’m gonna make them aware”

Personally I am aware that even if this information is know to the vested interests that profit from the sales of pharmaceuticals and toxic GMO foods it would not be profitable to disseminate it. If we want relevant information on naturally healing diabetes we must do our own research.

The benefits of natural eating have been shown to me through my life. My grandmother is very healthy and still lives on her own at 90 years old. She has always been a vegetarian and has always grown her own organic produce. Here on Bali I have many friends who work in natural health clinics that cure many diseases only with food and diet.

The body is amazing and has the capacity to cure itself it we give it the tools!

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 17.00.03.png

What Was My Father's Reaction

It took me a long time to get my father to watch the documentary and read the information I had compiled for him. To say that he was disinterested is an understatement.

What I realised is that food is a very important topic for people, we use food for pleasure and comfort. The concept of changing our diets can be very unpleasant.

I told my father that I would grow or buy all the organic produce we needed for 30 days. I promised that I would do all the food preparation.

My father was perturbed that raw food would be cold but I told him it can be warm. He was also concerned that the food would be bland. I promised to ensure it would be tasty and spicy. My entire family knows I am a good cook.

After this lengthy conversation my father looked me straight in the eyes and said: "no". He did not want to even try the diet for 30 days. I expressed my opinion that it was his choice what he did to his body but that to make the rest of his family suffer the agony and stress of helping him be slowly cut to pieces was unfair and selfish of him.

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 17.18.42.png

What I Hope For The Future

I hope that one day my father will tire of having his body slowly amputated by expensive surgeons and be ready to try a noninvasive natural method to cure his diabetes. When he is ready I will be there to assist in whatever way I can!

I know that many of you reading this post will know someone you love that is affected by diabetes. I understand how you feel and I have compassion for you. We need to do something about this!

If any of you would like to hear some of my other research on this issue please let me know. I will be most interested to hear any comments on natural healing approaches for diabetes.

[Edit: I lost 2/3 of this post in an edit and had to rewrite it... I think the content is roughly the same as the original! =)]


Images courtesy of: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.


Jockey loves you All!

@jockey - introducing me.jpg

Sort:  

Your posts on health issues are really interesting. I am in England and all my relatives over a certain age have type 2 diabetes. My father claims to have reversed his diabetes by removing sugar entirely from his diet. He also eats one main meal early in the day and exercises. Removing sugar from a western diet is not at all easy however!

You can definitely cure diabetes through diet and regular exercise. I know because I did just that!🤗👌

That's great! Congratulations!

Thanks @rafine. The great thing is that I don't have to take any tablets now!👍

Brilliant! =)

That is amazing! Thank you so much for sharing - It gives me hope! I have upvoted and followed you incase you post more about this! =)

Try to avoid processed food completely. That's my main takeaway. Eat lots of fresh fruit and vegetable, 4 eggs daily, fish, meat, nuts and seeds. Drink lots of water daily from glass bottles, not plastic. Don't eat bread at all.

Thanks for following and I hope you find my posts interesting and informative. 👌

Yes mate! I agree with all you are saying! I will be reading with pleasure! Thank you so much for sharing! Upvoted! =)

Congrats. I wish my mother could do that. She has to take insulin.

Thanks @darksorrow. You just have to be determined and make the changes in your lifestyle.

My father is the same but in a different way. He has had multiple heart surgeries and heart attacks. The doctors milk him for money and have him on all sorts of drugs with bad side effects. His heart isn't getting better either.

All he would have to do is change his diet, but he won't do it. I bought him a DVD player to have him watch Forks over Knives, but he won't even watch the video let alone cut out the terrible "food" in his diet. I don't understand why.

They get so set in their ways that they cannot imagine an alternative?

Thank you so much for your heartfelt and beautiful comment!

I I know where you are coming from and I feel your distress...

They are pumping my father full of heart "medicines" too and he is not getting better!

I wish you the best my friend! Upvoted and followed!

Thank you! I forgot to follow you but fixed my mistake. ;-)

That's unfortunate. For some people, the lifestyle changes are difficult. The first thing you have to do is to change their thinking, and slowly start condintioning their brain to make the changes.

The only way to cure diabetes type 2 is CRISPR/CAS technology which is brand new but yet incomplete, it's not so far when we will start using this molecular mechanism to cure almost every disease
you can about CRIPR here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CRISPR

Thank you so much mate! I will research this immediately! Upvoted! Cheers! =)

Thank you. It's really amazing technology which needs some finalization for continued use with human

why the ONLY way.. it is perhaps one way?

a vegan whole food diet has been shown to reverse diabetes completely in MANY cases.. Here's a link from an AMAZING and very smart lady i met in India who has a lot to say about this! If you are diabetic please check this website out..

https://sharan-india.org/

I like it
Thank for sharing

Diabeties as earlier said to be Royal Disease has not just restricted itself to upper classes but is found to be in middle and some lower classes. Diabeties has been a disease of developing and developed countries. Diabeties as such is not threatening, however, the various problems associated with it makes it serious and threatening e.g, a small cut in the finger may lead to the amputation of finger in some cases, if infected...that is Diabeties.
Diabetics are always at risk of some secondary disease or infections.
Now as far as diet is concerned, it has a big effect on Diabetics. In some hospitals a dietician is solely hired for the purpose of prescribing and maintaining the diet for diabetics. So Diet has a major effect on diabetics. Diet majorly organic and Raw like of vegan has a role in controlling the diabeties. However, it is just an adjuvant for the medical treatment. There can be some cases where only maintaing diet would control the Bld Sugar, however those patients would be having mild or moderate increases in Sugar lvls. But the constant high sugar patients in no way can be treated by merely adjusting the diet. I hope you won't be led away by just stories or events. Remember Every patient is different, and so is the treatment.
I also agree with you regarding the corruption in medical field. The money is truely a b****. However, there are also some corruption free practitioners. Hope you find one and may your father have long life ahead.

Check into a supplement called Berberine. Not only is it a cure for diabetes, it also lowers cholesterol and triglycerides.

One food you did not include in your list is turmeric. It has shown to have positive effects on treating and preventing diabetes.

It is only Type II Diabetes that can be helped through diet though, right?
Type I is where an auto-immune condition where the body attacks itself, in this case the pancreas' ability to produce insulin is attacked.

I hope that somewhere out there is a natural solution to auto-immune conditions of all types, but I don't think eating healthy makes enough difference. Perhaps there are certain super foods that are more medicine than food, that can help an auto-immune condition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75