I Caved to the Anti-Biotics...

in #health7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0368.jpg

I Caved to the Anti-Biotics...

After a week and a half of fighting through the symptoms, I finally decided to go to the doctor for a sinus infection. I tried my best to heal it naturally. I was going to sleep early, drinking tons of water, vitamin C, manuka/turmeric tea and taking oil of oregano supplements. The initial cold went away and I began to feel better but it eventually lead to a nasty sinus infection that got more painful by the day.

My forehead was throbbing and I started to get tooth pain, which is a common sign of a sinus infection. Work days have been dreadful and my productivity level has collapsed. It was time for me to throw in the towel and raise the white flag.... and to the doctors office I went.

333333.png

The Prescription

The doctor easily and quickly diagnosed me with a common sinus infection. I was prescribed a 10-day cycle of 875 mg Amoxicillin pills and I needed to take 2 a day. Amoxicillin is a penicillin-style anti-biotic prescribed to treat bacterial infections. It works by preventing the growth of new bacteria. I am 3 pills into the cycle and starting to feel a bit of relief.

IMG_0367.jpg

333333.png

I usually try my best to avoid prescription medications. I am always hearing about the dangers of over-prescribed medications. Bacteria builds a growing resistance to anti-biotics as misuse and over-utilization continues to occur. But after missing out on the first 2 weekends of 2018 I decided I could not lose another. The winter weekends are sacred. They are the only time I have the chance to head up north and shred the mountains. So I caved on the natural remedies and got myself some anti-biotics. Hopefully this round of Amoxicillin will have me up to par for next weekend. I'm itching to get up to Vermont!

333333.png

What Are Your Favorite Natural Remedies ?

Please share in the comments below

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

Talk about a productivity collapse.. You didn't post til 3PM thats a shocker!

Get well soon mate.

Hahaha I actually blame work for that one...

Thanks my friend!

So sorry to hear that, hope the amoxicillin will help u asap! Looking forward to hear more about your trip to Verment!
Be well! :*

Thanks @alexandraioana26! Hopefully I’ll make it up there next weekend :)

Do you ski at all?

In my opinion its best to avoid antibiotics, steroids and other prescription meds when possible since they're not only potentially bad for you, but they come with environmental risks. They often contaminate the local water table and drinking water supplies affecting even those not taking them. Sometimes however it is necessary to use them. Everything in moderation they say.

Also more importantly- I'm hoping you get well soon

Thank you! I completely agree with you... but I faltered to Big Pharma this time.
Have a great weekend @aaronburt

It reminds me when I've tried some of stuff from America, it called concerta, apparently it's for kids, but when I've had it....... Well pretty decent stuff....

Ahhh yes, that stuff is ADHD medication sort of like Adderall and Vyvanse. It’s essentially pharmaceutical Meth.... it’s what we used to take in college during test weeks to stay up all night and study.

I usually drink a glass of milk with a spoon of honey, for the night. Antibiotics are a strong medicine, it happens that without them, I think you'll soon get well.

Thanks @magnata! Warm milk with honey before bed is a great way to get a good night’s sleep

Same happened to me this year. I didnt take medication for 3 years. Two months ago I had a bad sinus infection and ended up taking two different antibiotics + injection. Now I am OK, but I try to eat more healthier than I did it the past months. Bless you!

Thank you very much @hanen, glad you're feeling better. Hope you have a great weekend!

:( Good luck. I usually do water and soup although I recently heard good stuff about elderberry.

Thanks my friend, I haven't tried Elderberry but I will look into it!

Get well soon dear. I pray the amoxicillin works. Let us know when you get better. Following you.

Thank you for sharing ♥ following you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jeffjagoe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66