Conception Part 2

in #health8 years ago

DSC01728.JPG

 

The Move

After finding out I was pregnant in August 2014 there were still unknown things about to happen. We were moving from beautiful Nova Scotia to Quebec for work. Being from Nova Scotia there is no surprise that I had no French speaking abilities. The move was a huge thing for me because I did not want to go. Being pregnant for the first time and having to do it away from family did not sit well with me. The language barrier was hard for me to get over as well.

I was set. Set in my own mind, I was not going because I wanted to talk to the doctors and not have to worry about translation issues. I fought my own thoughts about this whole move and in the end, I was accepting of it. Only a few years there and I could do that. Our new adventure had started. We sold the house, packed up the two dogs, the cat, and we were on our way.

We arrive in November of 2014 to our new house. Things are okay so far. Time goes by and I am over the moon with excitement for the baby to arrive. I tell my husband that we are having a boy because I just know we are. It was a feeling I had during the pregnancy. Of course, he giggles and thinks nothing of it.

20 Week Ultrasound

The day came to have the sex revealed! I was so excited about this and I was not very big at this time either. We go to our appointment with a translator to help with the information. We were asked if we wanted to know the sex of the baby. Without hesitation, I tell the technician we just need confirmation we are having a boy. Once again I get the giggle. At this point, it does not impact me because I still just know I am having a boy.

Toes and fingers counted, bones measured, and the sex was revealed. IT'S A BOY! Once again a giggle happens, from me this time. I look at my husband and say, "I told you so!" Time goes on and the technician is not saying anything but looking puzzled, then we have to see the doctor. We wait our turn and wondering why we need to see the doctor. Finally, in we go and it was the worst meeting of my life.

"Your baby has markers for down syndrome. You need to come back tomorrow to have an amniocentesis, and you must decide what you are going to do with your baby." I was so upset at this. My mind of full of running thoughts and all I could think was I did not want a child to live with DS because it was no life for him. The thoughts were endless through that day into the morning. Sleep was not happening at this point.

The next day we go back. Wait for our turn and get in to have a second ultrasound done. Nervous what we were going to be told today the thoughts were continuing. Another doctor will see us on this day. We go in and I am still emotional from the previous day. We get told everything is fine. Our baby was moving too much the day before to get accurate measurements.

At this point, I was so pissed but so relieved. Due to the choice of information given, I spent 24 hours in a state that was unnecessary for me and my baby. It would have been better to tell us we had to come back because the baby was moving too much. From that moment I could not describe how much I hate where we were. The count and questions of when were we going to move had started.

Sort:  

wow awesome bro thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33