How to get fit over 40 years old in 30 days. A tutorial with photos of day 1 and day 30.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I am trying to stay healthy. This is not easy setting up a company, raising the kids (lovingly) and being a nice partner and friend.
I know, I know, we all have to deal with work life balance, but almost every person I speak to finds it hard to make sure that their body doesn't become the last thing they think about. And therefore this practical post on staying fit

It's so easy to sit and do nothing, its the best excuse after a hard day at work or with the kids. To make sure I get off my ass I live with these mantra's, that are practical and not stringent:

  1. there is always a window of opportunity in the day, and you either take it, or you don't. If you don't, the window passes, and you will have to wait till the next one opens up. Yes, you can plan these windows, but if you don't take it, the moment is gone. So take the opportunity!

  2. You can exercise every day if you like, but don't leave more than three days between it.

  3. Exercise hard, but no more than 1 hour, otherwise it becomes to excessive and you won't be able to keep it up.

Food determines 70-80% of your body weight. Simply said, if more goes in than you use, it gets stored. As a chemist I can debate with you if the calories in food are all the same, if certain vegetables have more vitamins, if certain fats are better than others, if it should be fresh, canned or frozen, and I'm sure I will win the debate. But to be frank, you are not a top athlete, there is only one way that works for your whole live: DON'T BE SPASTIC ABOUT IT! it doesn't have to be perfect.

Mantra's for food, Im a woman, but the same rules apply for men and woman:

  1. Eat 2-4 times a day. (less meals= more food)
  2. Eat a lot of vegetables in every meal, they are unlimited ( caution: potatoes are carbohydrate and not vegetables)
  3. No more than 2 fruit a day
  4. Protein keeps the hunger away, so eat protein ( plain yoghurt, fish, meat, wey protein, nuts, beans,chick peas, eggs eggs eggs, avocado), make a fist, thats the size you need, and wey protein can be 1-3 scoops)
  5. Eliminate sugar as much as possible, as it makes you thirsty and hungry. Same for Salt.
  6. Eat fat, as it fills you up, and you feel full for a long time( also important for all the processes in your body), so do eat fatty fish, avocado, nuts, and some oil on your salad, even margarine or butter. But no more than twice a tip of your thump if its pure fat a day.
  7. Don't eat more carbohydrates than you can fit in one hand per meal, and fruit is considered a carbohydrate, as well as sugar (Carbohydrates are long strings of sugars).

If you don't loose weight, you are eating too much, the easiest is to go down in carbohydrate, and shave of some fat or protein. Listen to your body, and don't weigh yourself more than once a week, rather once a month. Its that simple.

I'll post a food plan in the next post, as well as an exercise plan, for people who want to follow my plan.

I made sure I stuck to it a whole month without cheating. Here is my before and after picture of last month, I feel a little embarrassed posting it, but otherwise you won't see that within one month I made a change, though the real change is in my fitness and health. I will continue for 12 more weeks to follow the changes in my body, though I mostly do it to feel good, and to be able to do my own shopping when I am 88 years old.

Screen Shot 2018-02-20 at 17.17.28.png

Sort:  

Good post but whenever i start diet then after some days i feel so lazy and my BP level decrease from its normal stage @hefziba

What are BP levels?
In any case, I feel tired and Cold the first week, but you have to go through this phase, the week after you will get rewarded with more energy. It helps to do it with a team, so you can bitch in the first week. Also, don’t see it as a diet, see it as a lifestyle change. You need at least 30 days to overlay good habits with bad habits. Be strong for 30 days.

BP mean Blood pressure level
Okay its helpful for me thanks

Blood pressure is allowed to drop a bit. Let me know if you start again.

Good post
I like it
Please follow me @yesiruolaide

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57589.28
ETH 3109.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37