My Experience In A Sensory Deprivation Tank & the Benefits of "Floating"

in #health6 years ago (edited)

At the time I lived in Sedona, Arizona... a local Float Spa opened. I had to try it..

float2.jpg

Walking in right away I am greeted by sparkly, clear eyes from the super Zenned out staff, which hints at the unlimited “floats” they get as a bonus for working here.

In a hushed relaxed voice I am instructed by one of the staff to change into the spa’s flip flops and follow into the next room. I first see an colorfully lit up oxygen bar with two chairs on both side. A couple of people are lounging with their feet up, and enjoying the fresh air coming through the tubes going right into their nostrils.

I am then guided behind a wall where I am seated in another comfy chair, a woman follows me and is seated next to me, she is maybe in her 60’s. She shares that she is a tourist from Canada, and has “floated before” but not in the States.

This being a first time for both of us a the True REST Float Spa we are shown a 15 minutes (or so it seemed) introduction video on floating. The woman floating in the video and on the brochure is an acquaintance of mine, I smile to myself, it’s always nice to see a familiar face.

float1.JPG

To the right of me, is a wall of glowing relaxation; a square shelving unit filled with Himalayan salt lamps, emitting their calming ions into the air. Every detail in this place breathes “peace”.

Shortly after the video finished, we are lead out to our private rooms. This is the moment I first see the Float Pod. It feels like I am about to step into a space ship. I am instructed to undress and cover any wounds or scratches with the proper ointment and band aid, to prevent the salt water from stinging.

float3.jpg

I am left to my own devices. As I get in, I lower the hood and am now inside the ship.

When I finally position myself to let go and float... my first feeling.. is a flash back of all those times when I was drifting off to sleep and I jerk back awake as If I am about to fall. Many people describe this experience when they “astral project”. That feeling of falling back into your body. So the moment I floated that’s what I experienced, that same magical feeling of otherworldly weightlessness... but this time I was awake.

After that abrupt feeling of "falling" which as actually floating, my mind became more active. I watched many thoughts come up from work, my days, people ... as I tried to let them go to find the inner stillness. I laughed at it to myself as I realized it's part of the process. I let go of it more and more as I relaxed.. for about 40 minutes.

Some proven health benefits of floating are

Stress relief
Lowers Anxiety
Sports recovery
Pain reduction
Promotes relaxation
Reduces headaches
Increases circulation
Better sleep
To learn to meditate

Afterwards I got to enjoy the oxygen bar. Oxygen infused with essential oils of my preference.

floatafter.jpg

By this time I was totally relaxed in bliss, and I got to put my feet up. :)

floatafter2.jpg

xoxo <3

@healthwealth

Sort:  

Hiya @healthwealth, Interesting post! I've often thought about trying out a dep tank and do a bit of floating. Thanks for sharing. :-)


I've found your post to be worthy of a resteem and upvote from me. I'm an actual person and I am doing this on behalf of the Resteem - Upvote movement. Each day I pick a random post, upvote it and resteem it. Join the movement, pay it forward - read about it here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jackmiller/a-call-to-arms-beat-the-bots-the-movement

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86