R-E-L-A-X-A-T-I-O-N :) In the form of ASMR. What's ASMR? Inquire within...

in #health7 years ago

Ultimate Relaxation

I wanted to share something with you that is absolutely divine...or at least I think so! ASMR artists have been around for a few years now but if you don't know what it is then you're in for a treat! For your ears :) ASMR stands for Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response. Do you ever get shivers or tingles from getting your hair brushed or having someone draw shapes on your back or by listening to someone whisper in your ear? Well, that would be a good example of feeling ASMR.

ASMR.png
*

I'm a little obsessed with it myself. I'm not an a creator but a very avid listener. There are some people who tingle easy and some who have a harder time getting that tingly feeling like myself but that doesn't seem to bother me much. If I feel the need to wind down or maybe I've just been through something stressful or need a bit of personal attention, I'll turn to one of my favorite ASM-Artists, put my big ol' headphones on and lay back and relax :)

ASMR ears.jpg
*

Now then. First the first timer it might all seem a bit...weird. People tapping on jars and books. Scratching fabric. Crinkling packages, cleaning your "ears" with cotton swabs or even covering your "ears" with shaving cream for that up close snap, crackle, pop of tiny bubbles. Yes it's weird...until you try it! And I put "ears" in quotes because the microphones that are used act as your ears. There are even some that HAVE actual ears ON them.

My favorite artists

So with that being said, I thought I'd share a few of my favorite ASM-Artists (in no particular order) with you to get you started.

WhispersRed ASMR

https://www.youtube.com/user/WhispersRedASMR

Gentewhispering ASMR

https://www.youtube.com/user/GentleWhispering

Articulate Design ASMR

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOkFff6Mg5YEyeZ8XONGc9A

There were just too many good videos to choose from so I linked you to their YouTube channel page and you can decide for yourself. I hope you're able to benefit from them as much as I do. Sometimes it's just nice to feel like you have a friend right there who's willing to help make you feel loved and pampered. Others find it's very beneficial to help them fall asleep. I think there are many benefits besides the tingle aspect :)

If you're an ASMR veteran I'd love to know who your favorites are as well. I'm always looking for great, relaxing videos.

I hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

I love ASMR. Great article. Thanks for sharing some of your favorites. I'll try to check them out soon.

There are some days I can listen for hours...not ashamed to say :) The one's I listed are pretty well know but I guess that's for a reason. They're awesome :)

Appropriate relaxation can prompt various medical advantages. Decreasing worry, by figuring out how to think unmistakably and concentrate on your objectives, prompts expanded vitality to do different things that you need to do, and even prompts better rest.

So very true :)

I' ve heard about this but I am still a bit skeptical about it.

I suggest giving it a try! Imagine getting a massage but for your mind :) Massage therapy is proven to help reduce stress, headaches, improve sleep etc. but so are a lot of things that are relaxation inducing. You might find that you like some versions of ASMR more than others. Each persons trigger for the tingles and relaxation is a bit different but there are so many different triggers to choose from. I think you could totally find something you like :) It's totally worth it in my opinion.

What would you suggest for a "skeptical" person? :)

Oh man, like I said, everyone has their preferences but I personally love role play ASMR like this one from ASMR Requests where she gives you a spa facial. There's something about her voice and the crispness of the sounds as well as the personal attention. Or you could try a non role play where there are just a variety of sounds you can listen to a long the way like in this one from WhispersRed. I love the crinkling noises so right around 11:30 minutes into it I especially feel a bit tingly :D

Also, if you're interested in checking out specific sounds you could just type in YouTube search the sound and then ASMR after it. ie: shaving cream asmr, sticky sounds asmr, tapping on glass asmr, whatever :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35