Pink Himalayan, Kosher, Pickling, Table: SaltssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

How Do You Know Which One To Use?


10-salt-food.w600.h600.jpg

Image Source

We all love salty, fried foods. I crave them. I am not a sweet eater, but if you give me a bag of potato chips or a plate of French fries, I am in Heaven!

Health Benefits and Medical Concerns When Using Salt

We also know we should limit our salt intake. Too much and not enough can be unhealthy and cause some high risk medical conditions.

saltinfo.jpg

Image Source

Health Concerns


  • Stroke
  • High blood pressure
  • Coronary problems
  • Stomach problems
  • Obesity
  • Water retention
  • Meniere's Disease
  • Diabetes

Types Of Salt


v.jpg

  • Table - iodine fortified, highly processed and the most common
  • Kosher- milder flavor and quickly dissolves
  • Himalayan Pink- has a slightly lower sodium content and is the IT salt currently
  • Canning or pickling- used for preserving and has no additives

c.jpg


There are more salt varieties out there, but these are the ones I have on hand in my kitchen.
Sea salt is one I used to have and use for cooking, but I ran out quite a while ago and never replaced the container.

  • Sea salt- comes from evaporated seawater and is good when "finishing" a meal. Kind of like a special touch to the meal.

Cooking WithOUT Salt


Try new recipes and experiment with other herbs and seasonings besides salt. There are hundreds of different herbs and seasonings available, some are even sodium free, that you can try and use in your cooking.

This is something I am currently doing. Instead of using salt on EVERYTHING, I am using more diverse seasonings and herbs.

  • Cumin
  • Curry
  • Lemon pepper

Just adding a new flavor to a dish can really spice it up. No pun intended.
I made a beef pot roast the other day and instead of using salt to season it, I cut up a few cloves of garlic, slit some of the meat and slid the whole garlic cloves into the slices throughout the roast. I let the meat marinate with the garlic cloves for about two hours. (I also seasoned with pepper, onion powder, cumin and oregano). I tossed it in the cast iron skillet to brown each side for a moment then tossed in oven for another 20 minutes on 400-degrees.

OMGoodness! that little change of the garlic and omitting the salt made this the most delicious pot roast I have ever eaten.

Snacking WithOUT Extra Salt

lays-lightly-salted-potato-30299.jpg
Image Source

In my house, my husband suffers from high blood pressure and I have Meniere's Disease, so we are constantly monitoring sodium and salt intake. I have found Lay's offers Lightly Salted Potato Chips; which satisfies my desire for salt and the crunch they offer up.


SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead discordcommunity and have fun chatting with us- contact @pennsif or @greenacrehome for more information and to join!
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Celtic Sea Salt is also very good! I also like to get smoked salt from time to time, puts a nice smokiness on meats and I use it on popcorn too!

ooohhh! Smoked salt? That sounds awesome!
I have never had it or even heard of it.

I ordered some from @mericanhomestead , Zac over there does a great job and it tastes great!

But.... Like the AHA's ideas on red meat, etc (90% bunk)

I dont know that the recommendations on salt these days applies to everyone. If you are a processed food junkie...then certainly. Have medical reasons...then yes, probably.

All I know is that salt has been used for millenia. It can't be all bad. And as I probably only eat 10-20% the processed food that most Americans eat...
I am and feel I can be fairly liberal with my salt intake. But I don't know...I dont claim to be an expert in everyone's nutrition.

And @goldendawne ...I am not meaning to contradict or argue.... These are just my thoughts that I have each time people start talking about salt intake.

I ask that everyone take these opinions .....with a grain of salt XD

.....with a grain of salt XD
No pun intended? lol

I understand where you are coming from. I do.
In my case, as I am sure it may be the same with your wife, I do notice a difference in my sodium and salt intake. Too much... I get an episode.

But, in response (and no harm taken) I partially agree with you.
Salt has been around for centuries and used on a daily basis.
So.. keeping that in mind.

  1. Are people like my husband who is on blood pressure RXs really in need of the RX? No probably not. Perhaps the lowering of his sodium intake is the key. Which is what I am working on.
  2. People are addicted to processed/fast food and those are loaded with unnecessary preservatives and gosh knows what else. They don't get their "fix" they have withdrawals; just like an addict of illegal or RX medications/opiods. (perhaps the government and USDA, FDA, or whomever the dept is, should look into regulating the fast food industry and maybe they should consider this as a "War On Obesity".
  3. Moderation, moderation and more moderation.

People have become lazy to some degree. Fast food, pre-packaged foods, etc. If we paid more attention to what we were putting in our bodies instead of what was on our smart phone screen, it could change.

Yes and yes!
For my wife the salt control does make a difference.

I almost deleted my comment because I was afraid it sounded argumentative... So glad it didnt seem so to you!

Oh heck no- I'm glad you didn't.. I am always open to polite and open-ended debate.
It's nice to hear others' POVs as well as share mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33