Why am I so annoyingly chirpy and optimistic all the time?

in #health7 years ago


Source

I realise that my attitude to life may be annoying to some people. I always used to be suspicious of people who were happy all the time. They must be overcompensating, surely? Well, to be honest, yes I am.


Source

As some already know here, I have MS - Multiple Sclerosis. It is a neurodegenerative disease whereby your own immune system attacks the nerves in you brain primarily, but can also affect your spinal cord too. The way I explain it to people is that the insulator (myelin) which coats your wires (nerves) gets damaged, causing short circuits. The symptoms range from extreme tiredness to muscle weakness, pain, twitching muscles, it can affect your eyesight and your sleep.

I don’t suffer as badly as most with the disease. I suffer with tiredness, trouble sleeping and pain, muscle weakness and spasms, and my eyesight regularly goes on the fritz. A common symptom with MS is depression, and I suffer with this too. On occasion I have trouble walking and I am unable to go out to work. I have had MS since 1999 and the last time I worked was over ten years ago.


Source

The thing with multiple sclerosis is if you allow it to rule your life and get you down, it will drag you down quickly. When I was first diagnosed I felt like the world dropped from under me and I went downhill fast, unable to even get out of bed or walk. It took me a few years and a mental adjustment to literally get back on my feet. Throughout that period my marriage broke down and I divorced.


Source

Since then I have tried to focus on the positives in my life. I met the love of my life thirteen years ago and we have two beautiful children together. Although I can’t go out to work, I do get to spend an enormous amount of time with my family, and I see that as a blessing. As an aside, I also get to spend many hours every day on Steem and Discord, growing my network and account. The friends I lost during the first phase of my illness - yes, people are like that - are history and have been replaced by the best friends I could ever have hoped to meet.

10155229476255618.jpg

When I am in pain, exhausted and my eyesight isn’t working properly, all it takes is a hug from my five year old daughter to perk me up. She has an uncanny ability to just know when I need a hug. Life is good and it could be so much worse. I have met people with MS who are confined to a wheelchair or are bedridden. Thankfully, I am not in their situation. If my arm one morning doesn’t function, I don’t sweat it. It will eventually return to scheduled programming. If one day I cannot walk, I look forward to the next time I can take my kids to the park with the dog. There is always a silver lining.

I don’t let things worry me nowadays. Unfortunately this bothers some people, my girlfriend included. But I have to keep a positive mental attitude, or I will sink into a deep depression making my health so much worse. And that’s no good for anybody.


Source

I have made Steem my second home and treasure the true friendships I have formed both on here and in the various Discord communities I frequent. Annoying chirpy GMuxx is here to stay, assisting with growing the community, helping newbies where I can and encouraging awesome content through my various curation efforts. It really does help me to help you.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, songwriting or playwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block.


Sort:  

Aaaagggghh! Stop scaring us with selfies of yourself dude! 😂
You may have a dodgy boat race but your positivity truly is an inspiration buddy.
Many folks in your position wouldn't have the testicular fortitude you have to carry on the way you do and those who chose to be negative for no good reason should read this post for a reality check.
As a mate I reserve the right to take the piss at any opportunity but that doesn't mean I don't have the utmost respect for your commitment to life and bravery.
I'm proud to call you a friend Muxxy.
Steem on.

Thank you dude.

Don't stop taking the piss, that's what friends do.

You're freaking hilarious!

"Aaaagggghh! Stop scaring us with selfies of yourself dude!"
Reminds me of that song by The Bangles - Just another Manic Muxxy :)

testicular fortitude... huh... notes down in book

The character of a man is not found in what happens to him, but rather in how he responds to what happens.

One of the paradoxes we encounter in life is that it often takes dark days to discover what is most valuable in this life. So good to see this affirmed in your experience and to see you stronger on the other side.

I wouldn't be the person I am today without the darkness. Thank you for your comment.

You have such a great attitude about it, and you're already seeing the bright sides of what could be a very negative thing, if you allow it to be that. Things can only be sad and depressing if you allow them to be, and it seems you have a firm hand on that. You're a role model for all of us :) Well done, and keep it up!

Thank you dude.

Very cool to be open about it and have such a great attitude, a good reminder for me to be grateful for what I do have and not what could be - perspective is so important. Chatting, radio shows (and lurking), I've always enjoyed your laid back attitude.

Thanks. The way I look at it, any of us could die tomorrow. Enjoy what you can while you can. You never know what is around the corner.

On the other hand I'm a grumpy old git :P

This, we know 😉

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

What a fantastic outlook on life. They say that when life chucks you lemons, don't be sour, make lemonade. That's not always easy and I've seen first hand within my family how negative feelings can spiral into depression.

I learned I can be in pain without being a pain and attitude is how it happens ;-)

See I much prefer chippy people over the debbie downers...
In regards to pain and MS, 2 herbs call out to me that might benefit you.
For pain I use Ghost Pipe (Monotropa uniflora) and for rebuilding the sheath of the nerves is Lions mane (Hericium erinaceus). I encourage everyone to do their own research on just how well both of these work and the benefits of them.

Thanks for that, I will look into those.

I was so inspired by this post.. I had to make a reply in a WHOLE NEW POST !

HERE IT IS

Holy crap, the Mini-Muxx is adorable...

She is 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53