Multiple Sclerosis: it's all in my head

in #health7 years ago

I previously discussed my life living with MS (Multiple Sclerosis) here and described the physical symptoms I experience daily. In this post I would like to cover an aspect of the disease that doesn't get discussed often: the mental side of MS.

I have been suffering since 1991. Over the course of this neurological disorder I have hit troughs and highs but steadily over the years the highs have been shorter and the lows deeper and longer - I have what is called remitting relapsing MS. I go downhill for a while, slowly recuperate up to a point but then relapse, only to get slightly better the next time. It's ultimately on a downward slope.

One common symptom that most sufferers experience is depression, it is just the nature of the disease. It doesn't help that you naturally get depressed by having an incurable disorder. In my depression I have weeks when I don't want to get out of bed to face life, I feel worthless and I am the crankiest person alive. I see no silver lining, the skies are always grey. Medication helps up to a point but the biggest antidote I have found is to keep a positive mental attitude: if you let MS get you down it has a habit of dragging you down quickly. My immediate family see to it that I try to remain positive and involved in daily life.

During the past 10 years or more I have come to recognize that I have other mental disorders thanks to my condition. My short term memory has been severely hampered and I have had to find strategies to help me overcome this such as constantly taking notes either on a pad or in my phone. Still, it doesn't help when I struggle to get up and shuffle into another room only to get there not knowing what the hell I went there for in the first place. I am terrible with names: I know the face, I know them well but I just cannot remember their damn name! Another aspect of my short term memory problem is I sometimes feel I am in a time loop. Yes, let me explain: say for example just 5 seconds ago I pick up a book. This is a short term memory. But the way my brain interprets it is as though it were a long term memory. It makes life very confusing at times as you could imagine.

Long term memory is affected much less but with this I have another problem. I only have to try to recollect something from my past and, due to the faulty wiring in my brain I expect, the memory seem so vivid as though I had just experienced it. You might think this is a good thing and if it ended there I would agree with you. However once that flash of memory bursts into my consciousness it doesn't stop - it is almost like having a picture flash up on a TV constantly until I force myself to think of something else.

My cognitive function has deteriorated over the past 5 years or so and whereas I used to be able to pick things up quickly and learn a new skill in short time, hampered by memory loss I find it a struggle to absorb new information. As you would expect joining Steemit, learning all of it's intricacies and foibles coupled with trying to learn about cryptocurrency has been a struggle. I need to lock myself away with zero distractions, much to my family's dismay. Even having a tune playing in the background is too much. I find it an immense struggle to focus. As most men are I was always poor at multi tasking. Nowadays I am a disaster.

Thanks to Steemit, demanding that I learn quickly and attain as much focus as I can summon if I want to succeed, I am slowly beginning to think more clearly. Like a fog is slowly dispersing and I have a clearer vision for my future. I have enjoyed rekindling my passion for writing and have reignited my imagination. The mind is a muscle and much like keeping your body fit your brain needs regular exercise.

So thank you Steemit, you have done for me so much more than what is showing in my wallet.


Source 1, 2, 3, 4


Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupport project - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more


Sort:  

I cant even imagine how it is being in your skin but I was depressed for a very long time and I was looking for all kinds of solutions and in the end it was simple. Get your dosage sun daily or supplement 1000-5000 units vitamine d3 depending on your age, especially during winter (the older you are, the more you need). It's weird but I forgot how it is to be sad

Sounds weird to me, even now, but that's what helped me... and with one problem solved other solutions can follow

Best Wishes

Omega-3 supplements helped me a lot.

Yes mega vitamin B complex dosages and other vitamins and minerals can help alot. Read here about Dr. Mount and Dr. Klenner successful treatments for M.S. http://orthomolecular.org/resources/omns/v02n08.shtml

I have the depression under control now mostly, it's part and parcel of having MS

You are not alone in this, thanks to steemit for putting you on the lane, I hope it gets better.

Thanks. I'm afraid it won't get better

But it won't get worse.

I'm afraid it does

I have read your blog with interest. May I suggest you to read the book "COULD IT BE B12 ...AN EPIDEMIC OF MISDIAGNOSES" by Sally M Pacholok and Jeffrey J Stuart. They explain that Multiple Sclerosis is very often associated with a deficiency in a simple and cheap vitamine B12.
Please read the book and have your B12 level controled, or simply take vit B12 supplement. I upvoted, and hope you visit my web about why and how to supplement your food

Thank you for your insight. My wife was recently diagnosed with MS, but another neurologist said that she needs more testing because he feels that it could be a rarer neuroleukolytic disease that she actually has. When she is strong enough, we will go to Vanderbilt for a complete workup.
I had to take my wife off of her MS medications because I discovered that the side effects matched what almost killed her, putting her into the hospital twice within a few months.
We are now using CBD oil and it is helping her symptoms more than the medications were. Although, research shows that a 50/50 between CBD and THC works better, I am in a state where the THC is still illegal even for medical issues. I have a good source for my CBD because the quality can also make a difference if it s effectiveness. I will be sharing more when I start posting here and follow what I can also learn from you.

This is a hugely personal share, and you're brave not only in sharing it, but also in your struggles to retain as much of your health as you can with a degenerative disease. I'm so glad to hear that the challenge of figuring out the Steemit platform has helped you to stay as sharp as possible.

Thank you for saying so. I wanted to share as most people don't think of the psychological problems with MS, usually just the physical.

I couldn't agree more! Most people do only think of the physical, but when it comes to neurodegenerative diseases, there are GOING to be psychological changes beyond the emotional stress of having the disease. It's important to have these symptoms out in discussion, so that they can be encompassed in how you care for yourself.

Clearly you still have cognitive capabilities. Are you into nutrition? A friend of mine managed to get rid of all the symtoms in one year. He was "taken out" of his job in the police in 1998. All black/ white spots in the back of the brain is gone.

I'm sorry to hear that you have such health struggles.
But your perseverance is incredible.
I'm glad that you found your way to Steemit and this community.

Thank you.

It hasn't always been this way, I was in a dark hole for a while but realised it made my health worse. You have to keep positive and take every day as it comes.

Finding steemit and then joining #minnowsupport has given me a new lease of life.

Thank you for your continued support, very much appreciated.

You have my full support. I struggled with depression myself, I know exactly how you feel. Just don't let those thoughts win, you're the boss, not them. Have you tried cannabis? It's effective against MS symptons.

Thank you

I have and it didn't help

You need a strain with high CBD content.

MS sucks the big one, I have been dealing with it for years and just about everyone in my family has it!

Oh wow, sorry to hear dude

Yep, sucks big time

That's awesome that Steemit is helping you maintain cognitive function, its hard having mental impairment. Thank you for sharing your experience here with our community, I hope that Steemit can continue changing your life in positive ways!

Thank you for your reply. It can be tough and I have to slip away for a while to regather bUtility soon drawn back by the excellent community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87