Eyes or ears? Make your choice.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

As I sit here practically blind in one eye (see HERE) I got to thinking:

If you had a choice and had to either lose your sight or your hearing, which would you rather choose?

For me this is a hard choice: I do art of sorts in 3D modelling and I have found a new love for writing fiction. To totally lose my sight would be devastating, not least as I wouldn't see my children grow up.

On the other hand I love music and even had a desire once upon a time to play the guitar/bass. Although I was not talented enough a life without music would be very dull. I listen to music at every opportunity.

I guess I would rather lose my hearing, as hard as that would be.

So over to you: given the choice which would you rather have? Blindness or deafness?



Image Source

Sort:  

Definitely ears, then I could be alone with my thoughts anywhere,....

I'd be the same as you, despite the love of music I would find it harder to get by without sight.

My hearing is already shot. So I use my vision a bit more than others, so I would keep it that way. Not being able to see seems to me to be much worse than the minor annoyances of me having people repeat themselves.

Tough question. I guess I would have to choose blindness.

I guessed you might. It's obvious how much music is a part of you, to lose that would be a tragedy

Yeah, only a genius like Beethoven could still write music as a deaf person.
I hope your eyesight is getting better. :)

I have had bad ears all my life,but my eyes are good except for some color blindness (I see colors,just have a prob,w/ certain hues.)
For me it is an easy choice! take my ears! give me eye sight!
I think the world w/out sight would be hell!
I HAVE A DEEP RESPECT FOR THE BLIND!
I can only imagine what goes thru there mind,and how they process information without visual concept or form...pitch black for life. I could not handle that,especially after 49 years of sight.
Namaste!

As a reader and writer I could never give up my sight. I would miss good music, and my son saying I love you and his jokes, but there is so many awful songs and high pitch wails I could do without... I love to listen, but having all my direction and communications in writing... I almost wish for deaf. (Jk... Like every sight, sound and taste, the good will always outweigh the bad) great article.

That's a tough question, but in the long run I would choose to lose my hearing. I think others would make more of an effort to communicate with me instead of at me. I enjoy silence and always watch movies with subtitles anyways. Losing my hearing would be an adjustment, but more so if I lost my sight.

Thanks for asking Gmuxx

Blindness, because if I were deaf I wouldn't be able to hear your accent on this radio show I've heard about!

Lol, great answer :-)

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @gmuxx from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36