You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Way Out? - Drug Abuse

in #health6 years ago

Whoa.. that's a graphic.. graphic! I like it. Thank you for your piece; I relate. My story is that I used drugs for many years when "younger;" homeless and IV drug-user by age 22. got totally "clean" shortly thereafter and stayed thusly for the next almost ten years. Was a staunch member of Alcoholics Anonymous for two-thirds of that time. Went to college and got "smart--" didn't want "god" anymore, or the dogma I had created for myself, so I decided to go back to being "not sober." I managed to finish school, but it was a close call (I was finishing up a Masters by this time). The druggie-girlfriend-relationship went south and so did everything else with it. This was a few years back. Now, I'm off the illegal drugs, maintaining a normal life (as best I can lol).

Looking back, I have no regrets. Of "using" or "being sober." What I would like to say, is, that I view drug USE quite differently altogether than I did when I was in my teens, early twenties. I firmly believ that AT LEAST half the bullshit I dealt with: from family, friends, legally, shame of myself--so much of the "bad" that surrounded my drug use was BECAUSE of the fact that drugs were seen as such; namely, illegal, "dangerous," "evil," etc.

Drugs are NOT evil. Drugs, like anything can be used or misused. Part of my contention is the fact that much of the abuse of drugs is forced out of the fact it is illegal and that people are, largely, misinformed about these substances.

I'm gonna go smoke some weed now, so, Imma run, but, the long and the short? DECRIM ALL "DRUGS!!" It's the best answer, I think, to this current problem. Remove the shame, the need to lie, the need to steal... so much of why drugs cause problems to begin with! There isn't (always) something inherently "bad" about someone "on the nod--" just as long as they're not driving!!! You see my point, perhaps.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story. I'm glad you were able to pull out of it. You are right that the stigma associated with drug abuse is much worse than the act itself.

Yes.. I'm glad you agree. So do you not think that decrim. would work, though?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52