A Way Out? - Drug Abuse

in #health6 years ago

Source


The smell of tobacco on his breath, the red shot eyes and the god-like feeling after each bout. The sorrows he forgot and the fears that vanished. It was a way out.

Then it became more.
The needle marks like branded scars he proudly put on display. The euphoria, the bliss. He was on top of the world and that was all that mattered.
The nausea and itching were but mere hurdles to him for ecstasy was the prize. Though the skin flushed and the mouth dried, he rode on.



With no regrets and like a hyena cub he kept to his path. With the two-faced friends cheering every step of way, or did they?
The jeers in hidden corners he did not see; for to him, he was god to them.


Pushing to new limits each day with stronger doses, better cocktails. Much more fun it had seemed like, till he snapped.
Then they came for him, the depression and guilt.
Pushing loved ones away, hiding from the shame, the disgust; the want to leave his own skin.
The arguments with Pa, stealing just to feed desires. Desires that were now stronger than will.
And the lies to cover those up, each begetting another.

Then he grew hostile; snarling at everyone, oppressing others to survive the want.
The night rests he could have no more, for insomnia was now the new gift.
With no one to talk to and no one to help, he fell deeper. Falling back to pill haven for solace.


Then creeping in like slow poison it found a place in his mind. The answer, the perfect way out to eternal solace. Trying all he could to shut the voices out, but much louder they came back. He gave up.

And so it was, a destiny lost to a noose.
Another the next day to a self pulled trigger.
Daily they go, alone and scared. Just seeking a way out.


MAKE THAT CHOICE TODAY. SAY NO TO DRUGS!!!
IF YOU NEED HELP, SPEAK UP!!!


JOIN ME ON SOLA
Another Decentralized Social Network That Pays Just Like Steemit

Sort:  

Whoa.. that's a graphic.. graphic! I like it. Thank you for your piece; I relate. My story is that I used drugs for many years when "younger;" homeless and IV drug-user by age 22. got totally "clean" shortly thereafter and stayed thusly for the next almost ten years. Was a staunch member of Alcoholics Anonymous for two-thirds of that time. Went to college and got "smart--" didn't want "god" anymore, or the dogma I had created for myself, so I decided to go back to being "not sober." I managed to finish school, but it was a close call (I was finishing up a Masters by this time). The druggie-girlfriend-relationship went south and so did everything else with it. This was a few years back. Now, I'm off the illegal drugs, maintaining a normal life (as best I can lol).

Looking back, I have no regrets. Of "using" or "being sober." What I would like to say, is, that I view drug USE quite differently altogether than I did when I was in my teens, early twenties. I firmly believ that AT LEAST half the bullshit I dealt with: from family, friends, legally, shame of myself--so much of the "bad" that surrounded my drug use was BECAUSE of the fact that drugs were seen as such; namely, illegal, "dangerous," "evil," etc.

Drugs are NOT evil. Drugs, like anything can be used or misused. Part of my contention is the fact that much of the abuse of drugs is forced out of the fact it is illegal and that people are, largely, misinformed about these substances.

I'm gonna go smoke some weed now, so, Imma run, but, the long and the short? DECRIM ALL "DRUGS!!" It's the best answer, I think, to this current problem. Remove the shame, the need to lie, the need to steal... so much of why drugs cause problems to begin with! There isn't (always) something inherently "bad" about someone "on the nod--" just as long as they're not driving!!! You see my point, perhaps.

Thank you for sharing your story. I'm glad you were able to pull out of it. You are right that the stigma associated with drug abuse is much worse than the act itself.

Yes.. I'm glad you agree. So do you not think that decrim. would work, though?

Very nice writing, man. Your descriptions are very vivid, I love how you wrote it in a poem-like style. Good luck on the contest!

Thanks for the kind words man

This post has received a 1.96 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @gamsam

You should have posted this in the latest air clinic writing contest

This is a really good piece and beautifully written. Obviously you chose not to take the final step of this story I am glad you survived and hope you found your way to sobriety.

Good writing and submission. I have read and evaluated your post 👍.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52