Toxic friends- Should you stay or should you go?

in #health8 years ago (edited)

                            

                           Image credit

From a very young age we start to make friends.  Small children don't see color and make friends with anyone who seems interested in playing with them.  When we grow up, it becomes a bit more complex......  As teenagers the wrong friends can get you into deep trouble, and many of us have learned our lessons with the wrong friends:)

                                       

                                      Image credit

Peer pressure is also a great factor here, and if you are influenced easily then it is important to choose the right friends.  Positive friends that will not get you in trouble. I still smoke today because I wanted to be with the in-crowd, and let me tell you that was the most idiotic mistake I have ever made!!!  

As we grow older it becomes more difficult to make friends.  These days you just don't know who you can trust anymore.....

I have a few friends that I will be friend's with forever.  I have friends that I went to school with, and although I don't see them everyday I know that they are there for me if I need them. ALWAYS  

About three years ago we moved to a small town at the coast.  People are very friendly here, but they don't mix easily. Most people keep to themselves here, so obviously it is quite difficult to make new friends.  Here and there you will meet a person at the beach, get into a casual conversation and chances are that you will meet that same person again the following day.  So over time you become friends.  

This is exactly what happened with my one friend.  She is a lovely lady and loves gardening and looking after her animals, and she is always ready for a party if we want to arrange a small gathering...with a few close friends. Blah blah blah....she is in fact everything that you need in a friend. OR SO I THOUGHT......

She was recently diagnosed with bipolar disorder.

Bipolar disorder, also known as manic-depressive illness, is a brain disorder that causes unusual shifts in mood, energy, activity levels, and the ability to carry out day-to-day tasks.  

Now I have had my fair share of people with bipolar disease before we moved here and I don't want to go through this again!  It is an emotionally draining process to try and pull people up all the time!  This is no longer a friendship. This is a constant battle.  How do I handle this now?  Do I leave her alone or do I give everything I've got to get her back to reality?  

                                                   

                                                   Image credit

Not everyone is equipped to be friends with someone with bipolar disorder.  The disorder itself can be treated with the correct medication but, unfortunately, I know for a fact that someone with bipolar disorder lose part of themselves in the process because of all the medication, and it is VERY VERY hard to get that person back to reality.  

My friend is currently living in her own little world that she created for herself and I feel so sorry for her.  I just don't know if I can do this anymore.  I just don't know......should I stay or should I go? 

If I am friends with someone then I am dedicated and I am what you can consider a GOOD friend.  I will go out of my way to help anyone....but is this friendship worth all the emotional stress that I have to go through?

                       

                     Image credit

I have had my fair share of friendship issues, and I don't know if I choose these people as my friends, or do they choose me? (I am a caring person)  At my age, I don't know if I even have to put up with this....BUT all that I hear in my head the whole time is the following....a friend in need is a friend indeed.

                                                  

                                                  Image credit

Family members  can't be chosen, but you can certainly choose your own friends.....  

                   MAKE SURE YOU CHOOSE THE RIGHT ONES! 

If you enjoyed reading this, please follow me @giantbear 

Sort:  

I agree that we should choose the right friends. I had terrible friends, but I mostly had great friends.

Most of my friends smoked, but they knew that I didn't smoke. So they wouldn't peer pressure me into doing it, they just smoked away without even thinking about asking me. They even asked me was it okay for them to smoke in front of me. I had no problem with it. That goes to show how great friends

@marceive true. My sister in law was my best friend in school and we started smoking together. Why we made that decision I don't know but I regret it everyday. I wish it was so easy to stop and I am getting there.....just have to ...decide one day and then just stop. Good for you that you weren't pressured into smoking. It is a horrible habit.

Great Read :) Following you now

I have struggled for the last two hours to comment. Thank you @steemitguide appreciate your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55