What is Tinnitus and how does it affect you?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

What is Tinnitus???

ds00365_im00193_ww5r606t_jpg.jpg

Tinnitus (TIN-ih-tus) is the perception of noise or ringing in the ears. A common problem, tinnitus affects about 1 in 5 people. Tinnitus isn't a condition itself — it's a symptom of an underlying condition, such as age-related hearing loss, ear injury or a circulatory system disorder. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/tinnitus/symptoms.../syc-20350156

I have lived with tinnitus for 17 years now. I got it while serving in the Army in a howitzer unit. Howitzers are basically big over sized tanks that shoot very long distances and are very loud. I was the medic for my unit...

I was in an accident in the Army that caused me to sustain head, neck, and back injuries disabling me for basically life. Tinnitus is one of the symptoms of my head injury. Between this accident and the loud noise from the howitzers I obtained tinnitus...

Sometimes, like today, the ringing in my head is so loud I can hardly think or hear other things. It just rings and rings and rings until your head feels like its pounding. You cant do anything about it. Just endless loud ringing. Top it off with the constant shaking due to my Parkinson's and I feel like a bell that no one else can hear. sort of like a dog whistle but for me only.

It can really drive you nuts and can keep you awake at night making it very difficult to sleep. It is hard to test for and mostly it is a matter of getting the doctor to take your word for it.

I have tried ear drops and acupuncture and medication but nothing seems to stop it. Some days it is very mild and soft, barely noticeable and forgotten. Other days it is so loud you cant do or hear anything.

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Hi dear sir fixedbydoc, Many many thanks for your very good post on Tinnitus.

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 73 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 78.70% and Bot: 1.30%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

thanks for the comment and upvote...

I have this pretty badly. I just figure there's an awful lot of people talking about me, and probably not all good... LOL

lol i used to pretend it was my secret 6th sense telling me of danger to come hahaha... of course it isnt but is fun...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62931.58
ETH 3444.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50