Going without sugar and making cheese taco shellssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

So after reading the sugar post written by @macksby (https://steemit.com/health/@macksby/the-sugar-addiction-what), I was motivated to kick my sugar problem in the butt. So, it has been 2 long weeks but I do finally see some light at the end of the tunnel, and I dont want to say it too loud, but it does seem to be getting easier!!!

My eldest son really enjoys mexican food, so he asked me to make tacos last night. So I read up online how to make carb, sugar, grain, wheat-free taco shells and tried out the cheese version. Oh my goodness gracious it is truly delicious. And so simple!

Here is a photo of a normal taco for those that have never had one:
taco shell.jpg

I mixed 3 cheeses, being mozzerella, emmental and flamenco cheese, although only mozzerella can be used. I then place small hamburger sized pinches of cheese on a hot pan and waited for it to brown on the one side. Then flipped it over to brown on the other side. Took it off and sucked up the excess fat with paper towels. To get the "U" shape, I folded them over a glass bowl when they were a bit cooler to handle.

I then paired the taco shells with well-cooked minced meat and veg and they were a hit! My son had 2 and still wanted more (which is the ultimate compliment!).

IMG-20170518-WA0004.jpg

I am hoping to add more recipes that are enjoyable by my whole family in the hope that more folks would give the sugar the kick in the butt that it deserves.

Thanks for stopping by, and suggestions and comments are always welcomed.

Sort:  

Good luck with the sugar. Its a trending topic at the moment..

Yeah seems like. I think people are slowly waking up to what actually is making us gain weight, which is good!

These were pretty awesome!

If you are actually quitting sugar, then you should look into a keto diet. I know many people that have found success in this type of diet when quitting sugar. No sugar allows you to eat much more fatty foods that you can enjoy without consequence. Good luck with the no sugar diet :)

Good advice. Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50