FREE MENSTRUATION - without any bandages, tampons & co. About WHAT, HOW and WHY!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

The following text is an article from @claudiapeters which she kindly allowed me to translate from German to English. Claudia became the initiation for my just startet weekly gathering on related topics.

Look here and feel invited to visit!

FREE MENSTRUATION - without any bandages, tampons & co. About WHAT, HOW and WHY!

Hello dear Steemians, or rather dear Steemianistas,
because the topic I would like to share with you today is a women's issue - interested men are of course welcome to read along. ;-)

I have been thinking for a long time whether I want to write this article at all, because somehow menstruation, especially when it comes to details, is still a taboo subject. But well, I'm prepared to face that because I find that the so-called free menstruation still receives far too little attention. If you are already feeling weak in your stomach, you are enjoying your meal or you are thinking "My goodness, who wants to know?
So, free menstruation what is that? How does that work? What's the point?

When a friend of mine threw this keyword into the room a few years ago, I couldn't start anything. So I started Google and read myself into the topic. I didn't find much at that time, but what I found sounded very interesting: Obviously, women don't necessarily need bandages, tampons or other hygiene articles to get their days clean.

What? You want to get this stuff down the leg or what?

No! Women can let the blood out of their bodies in a controlled way - just as the urine delivery can be controlled. Only while we are learning the latter as small children do young girls become "dependent" on bandages, tampons and the like with the first period.

I need to go into some detail to explain how this is possible:
Menstrual blood does not flow out of the vagina evenly and continuously, as is often assumed - and often unnoticed due to the use of bandages and tampons - but in batches - at the beginning of the bleeding the intervals are still quite small, with decreasing bleeding they become larger and bigger. Blood leaves the uterus via the cervix and initially accumulates in the upper part of the vagina - only when this amount has reached a certain volume does the blood flow out to the vaginal outlet.

And it is precisely for this process that women can get a feel for it. When the time is ripe, the toilet can be used and the blood can be simply drained in a controlled way. The targeted use of the pelvic floor muscles also makes it possible to stop the "threatening" blood flow and delay it a little when walking to the toilet is not possible.

So much for the theory.

What does it look like in practice? I wanted to experiment as much as I am, and I wanted to try it out immediately. At the risk of this experiment literally going into my pants, I left out all the hygienic aids during the next bleeding - I was free and at home - and felt the whole day interested and strained in my abdomen. And indeed, it worked. And this with me, where I could not boast of a pronounced body-consciousness.

I couldn't believe it. How could it be so easy? Why don't we women learn that? Where, when and why has this knowledge been lost?

I can only speculate on this: there are reports which suggest that the menstruation of women of originally living peoples is still practiced in this way today. From this one could deduce that it is a method that is also intended by nature. However, this requires attention and the possibility of being able to drain blood at any time if necessary. If both are not given - for example due to a structured daily work routine or the fact that we are no longer in nature, where we could sit down for a while at any time, which would also be considered unseemly - it makes sense to catch the blood with aids. In the end, this approach may have become so widely accepted that the original method was forgotten.

Okay, is that really that bad? We don't have to go back to the Stone Age, do we?

Nope! And yet free menstruation has many advantages that cannot be denied: it is much cleaner and more hygienic than using bandages, tampons and the like. The blood flows and is gone - no wet bandage in the panties, no tampon to hold the blood for hours in the body. You can save a tremendous amount of money if you don't have to constantly buy hygiene products that also irritate the intimate area, often contain harmful ingredients and are a burden on the environment. And a refined body feeling or increased body control is nothing bad. Many women also report, and I can confirm this, that the pain during free menstruation is much less severe than they were used to before, with aids.

Picture by © alexkich - Depositphotos.com
————

Thank you, Claudia!

Sort:  

Congratulations @erh.germany! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Dear Erika, thank you so much for this absolutely great article (and thanks to Claudia). I wonder what your experiences are after all - I would love to read that from you. Happy weekend!

Liebe, I'm not sure, if I got it right with resteeming - please check out my blog post - I really hope, you enjoy it and Claudia @claudiapeters as well. I'm really excited discovering this platform. Have good times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01