Stockpiling Medical Supplies For An Emergency! Prepping Supplies! Survival! Enjoy with Troy!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health7 years ago

Medical Supplies are a wonderful resource for your family or to use in barter in the event of a national emergency. If medical help is unavailable you will be ready to protect yourself and help others as well. The electrical grid could stop from functioning, truckers may not get supplies to grocery stores, Walmarts or Medical offices may be closed and you will be prepared. One system is to use 5 gallon buckets to store your supplies. Other ways may be on stock shelves or a cabinet system. In the event of a lock down a safe room or hidden room for storage may serve you well. Should you be fortunate to have a family member in the medical field, they may serve as a consultant in thee event of a SHTF event. Skills are always valuable and a barter commodity to benefit you.

I have separated medical supplies into three categories: External usage, band aids and pills.

247-512.png

External usage Bucket:

Epson Salt (Multiple Uses)
Sun block
Hydrogen Peroxide
70% Alcohol
50% Alcohol
Anti-Monkey Butt
Body Powder Medicated Triple Relief Formula
Antiseptic Mouth Wash
Saline Solution
Vaseline Petroleum Jelly
Anesthetic Hemorrhoidal Ointment (Multiple uses)
Blue Star Ointment with soothing Aloe
Anti-itch cream (Multiple uses)
Athlete's Foot Cream (Multiple Uses)
Triple Antibiotic ointment

247-512 (1).png

Bandaid Bucket:

CPR Facial
Gloves and Mask
Eye Pads (1' 5/8 x 2' 5/8)
Thermometer
Triangular Bandage
Burn Cream
Insect Sting Relief
Ovidone Iodine Prep Pads
Syringe (s)
Small shears
Tongue depressors
Hand Sanitizer
Medical Tape
Eye Wash
Instant Cold Pack
Aluminum Splint
Mentholated Ace bandage
Alcohol Wipes
Band aids
Cotton Swabs
Gauze sponges
Gauze Pads
Surgical Dressings
Non-stick Pads
Maxi (Blood Sponges)
Dressing Bandages

247-512 (2).png

Pill Bucket:
Kirkland multi-vitamin
Walgreens A-Z Multi-Vitamin//Multi Mineral supplement
Kirkland Anti-Diarr Health
Anti- Nausea medication
Ibuprofen
Aspirin
Chlor-Allergy Tablets (100 Tablet bottle)
Benadryl Allergy Tablets
Mucinex (Mucus relief -generic small bottle good barter)
Tylenol PM
Tylenol Regular
Aspirin Low dose
All Day Pain relief (Generic Alieve)
Ranitidine Tablets (USP) generic tegument 150 mg

Be aware that it is important to use FIFO (first in first out) in rotating your pills and medications as many loose their potency and effectiveness with age. Having respect for the shelf life is important. Be sure to check dates when available. Also be aware that certain antibiotics can become toxic and harmful over a period of time. It is best to error on the side of caution when in doubt.

images (2).jpg upote.png

Thanks for reading. Feel free to comment, upVote or resteem. - Troy

Sort:  

This is a great post about something I am a novice at. It's just right and simple enough for anyone to use as a reference. I may repost. Thanks.

I am glad it is helpful! Thanks for your kind words. - Troy

Thank you for including the FIFO method with this post. It doesn't just apply to food, but certainly also to medical supplies. A lot of people don't consider that. Upvoting and Resteeming.

I too was going to mention FIFO. Unless it is steel or rock or concrete, FIFO is the way to go.

I've been looking to build containers that support it, like can rotation systems. However, it is also tough to beat the utility of a 5-gallon bucket. Then I tend to use a Sharpie for either purchase date or rewrite expiration dates as they can fade.

Thanks again for some good lists.

Thanks for the tip. Yes FIFO is import on so many levels. - Troy

Thank you my friend. Glad you found value in it. kind blessings to you. - Troy

@enjoywithtroy,

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems!

WE STRIVE FOR TRANSPARENCY.

This is all really useful info to help plan ahead for an emergency! Thanks for sharing!

Please reply, and I'll nominate your post to the @ocd curators!

thank you so much. i am honored that you like my post. Yes i do accept and you may share my post on your compilation post. Again thanks. - Troy

Please let me know what day you will use it or send me a link so I may watch for it. Again thanks for your kindness. - Troy

I'll be nominating today, so be watching tomorrow to see if it makes the compilation! Thanks again

What a great, and very thorough, list.
I have my medical supply and constantly need to rotate items. I watch the expiration dates closely; even though most OTC meds' expiration dates are usually a couple of years off, I would rather swap than have old ones later.

Good idea. Often dates are a best use thing. Some expiration dates can in actuality be longer than stamped date. But one must be careful. Thanks for the reply. - Troy

Great post! Will upvote and resteem 👍🏻

Thank you so much my friend.

These are preps I am working on all of the time. Most deaths during major emergencies are from preventable health issues (usually due to lack of cleanliness because of limited potable water). A small scratch or cut can become a life-threatening issue if not treated properly. I have almost completed my trauma kit and then will finish up my dental preparedness kit. Then, I will continue to work on acquiring more basic first aid supplies and build on what I have. So many want to prep the more exciting things like guns and gear, but we cannot underestimate the importance of medical preps!

Thanks for this post!
I have resteemed it so others can learn!

Sincerely-
Oily

Thank you so much my friend! You are spot on! i would be interested in what you chose for your dental supplies. Again thanks. - Troy

I just posted a list a couple of weeks ago here. Feel free to copy and paste the list for personal use and reference. 😁

Thank you so much. I did save it to my files. I have been a prepper now for about 4 years. Sadly I have only done 3 prepper posts on Steemit as I have been covering other subjects. I need to do more. I am planning on following you if that is ok. I feel I can learn from you. - Troy

I would love seeing more prepping posts! You are welcome to follow me. I am following you. We can learn from each other. If you ever want to bounce around ideas, please feel free! I will help if I can. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74